Two Dips: Starring and Co-starring Cilantro

It’s funny how one’s tastes can change over time.  Fortunately, for most of us, they broaden with age.  When my husband was a boy until early adulthood, his diet consisted of only “brown food” (peanut butter, bacon, potatoes, bread, meat, etc.)  Though he’s still a pretty major picky eater, he will try new things, and he has increased the palette of colors he will eat to include red, orange, yellow, purple, and most importantly, green.

When I was young, I remember my mother making Salsa Cruda as taught to her by a Mexican-American friend.  I hated it because it was raw and had cilantro in it, which I thought tasted vile.  Now, I love cilantro and often eat it raw in salads.

These days, this salsa is not only one of my favorites, but my husband’s as well.  We eat it with soft tacos, corn chips, eggs, and as a dressing for salad.  I’m hoping by the time my son is an adult, he will love it too (he doesn’t do raw veggies or cilantro at this point in his life either!).

Salsa Cruda

About 4-5 ripe plum tomatoes, seeded, cored and chopped

1/3 to ½ cup finely chopped white onion, or to taste

1 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves, chopped, or to taste

1 to 2 wedges of fresh lime juice

Kosher salt

Optional:  Finely diced jalapeno or serrano pepper to taste *

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Makes about two cups.  Can be stored in the refrigerator for a few days.

*I usually make a batch without, then halve the salsa and add a pepper in one half so we have one spicy and one non-spicy to choose from


When I buy cilantro, I wash the whole bunch when I get home and store it in a container lined with a paper towel in the refrigerator.  I’ve tried keeping it on the counter in a glass of water in the past, but I find it wilts quickly.  The Salsa Cruda doesn’t have much cilantro in it, so with the leftover cilantro, I often make this dip on the same day.  It is great plain with cut veggies, as a condiment for roasted shrimp, or mixed with some whipped cottage cheese for a sandwich spread.  I entered this recipe in a blog contest last year and won some cool treats.  🙂

Cilantro Soy Lime Dip

About 2 cups of cilantro, loosely packed

1 clove of garlic

1 teaspoon fresh lime juice

1 teaspoon soy sauce

½ cup cottage cheese

¼ cup plain yogurt

Process everything in a food processor.

Makes about one cup.

Cilantro on FoodistaCilantro

7 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Condiments

7 responses to “Two Dips: Starring and Co-starring Cilantro

  1. Cilantro Soy Lime Dip sounds great for summer. I bet it would be good on fish tacos.

  2. wonderful recipe! I really enjoyed going through your site. If you won’t mind, I’d really love to guide foodista readers to your site. Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and you’re all set. Thanks!

  3. These fresh salsas look great! It’s funny how cilantro is such a love or hate ingredient – I am a lover. Your cruda is pretty much the same as my go-to salsa recipe!!

  4. Both dips look delicious! Cilantro seems to be one of those things that everyone hates the first time they taste it. Then you either acquire a taste or you don’t–but nobody seems neutral about whether they like it or not!

  5. Very good information. Lucky me I recently found your website
    by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve bookmarked it for later!

Leave a Reply

