Truffle Brownies

A few weeks ago I made these amazing truffle brownies after seeing them on Cookie Madness.  I wasn’t planning on baking anything that day, but these looked so delectable and so easy, I decided to make a quick half batch to bring to a play date.  I only had Trader Joe’s semisweet chocolate chips on hand (Anna’s recipe calls for 10 oz. of extra dark or bittersweet chocolate chips), so she recommended using 1 oz. unsweetened chocolate for one of the ounces of semisweet chocolate chips so they wouldn’t be too sweet.

I was amazed that the flavor of these brownies was SO intensely chocolate with the basic pantry chocolates I had on hand.  One can only imagine what it would be like made out of Valrhona chocolate!!

I halved the recipe since I didn’t want to have a bunch of decadent brownies lying around.  If you want, you can cut each of brownies into fourths to make 32 mini brownies.  They are very rich, so minis are the perfect size for me (but perhaps not for choco-monsters like my husband and son)!

This is the version I used.  Anna’s original recipe is here.

Truffle Brownies

4 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine

1 ½ tablespoons unsalted butter

1 ½ tablespoons water

½ cup granulated sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon vanilla

1 ½ eggs (I cracked one of the eggs in a bowl and spooned out half of it)

2 tablespoons unsifted all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line an 8-inch by 4-inch loaf pan with foil and spray with non-stick spray.

Heat chocolate, butter and water in a large microwave-safe mixing bowl at 50% power for 2-3 minutes, stopping to stir after the first minute and at 30 second intervals thereafter. I used the defrost setting.  If the power is too high, the chocolate might seize.

Beat the sugar, salt and vanilla into the melted chocolate mixture with a wooden spoon. Beat in the eggs one at a time until smooth and glossy (I beat the eggs for two minutes, but if you have a mixer, one minute would be good), then stir in the flour.

Spread the batter into the pan and bake 30-35 minutes. Do not over bake. The brownies will firm as they cool.

Cool completely or cool and chill. Lift from pan and cut into squares.

Makes 8 brownies or 32 mini brownies.




8 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

8 responses to “Truffle Brownies

  1. Oh YUM. I could eat a whole pan of those little beauties!

  2. Nice brownies 😉
    Happy Mother’s day!

  3. Yumm…mini sized truffle brownies but I think I will end up having them like popcorns lol.
    Great looking brownies you’ve got there, by the way 🙂

  4. Oh, these look “to die for!” Another recipe for me to save in my recipe box to try in the future. 🙂

  5. Wow, these brownies look incredible! I would love one right now!

  6. Pingback: Easy as Pie Ice Cream Cake | The Hungry Artist

  7. Pingback: Easy as Pie Ice Cream Cake | The Hungry Artist

Leave a Reply

