Creamy Green Soup with Parmesan Croutons and Award!


This soup is really for colder weather, but I couldn’t resist.  I really love the flavor, so I had to share.  Also, it’s a great way to get veggie-resisters to eat their vegetables!

I originally developed this recipe to be included in the press kit for my upcoming book, Soup Day.  Because that soup is a winter one and my book comes out in the fall, I created two harvest soup recipes, Fall Harvest Soup (to appear later) and Creamy Green Soup.

Here is an illustrated version of the green one:


For a readable version, see below!



Eat right away while the croutons are crunchy!



Creamy Green Soup with Parmesan Croutons

4 tablespoons olive oil, divided

4 medium zucchini, sliced and cut into half moons (about 8 cups)

½  medium onion, chopped

kosher salt

2 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups vegetable or chicken stock

1 medium Yukon potato, cut into ½-inch cubes (about 1 cup)

½ teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon dried thyme

Parmesan Croutons (See below)

minced chives for garnish (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in large soup pot over medium heat.
  3. Add zucchini and onion and pinch of salt.  Sauté until softened, about 5-7 minutes.  Add minced garlic and sauté until fragrant.
  4. Add stock to soup pot.  Then add cubed potato, pepper, thyme and kosher salt to taste.  Stir to combine. Bring to a simmer, cover and turn down heat to low.  Cook for about 15-20 minutes until potatoes are fork tender.
  5. Meanwhile, make croutons (see below) while soup is cooking.
  6. Carefully blend soup with a hand held immersion blender until soup is smooth.  Alternatively, blend soup in batches in a blender (never fill blender more than half full), while covering lid (remove plastic center first) with dish towel.  Hold lid down while blending on low speed. Return to pot after blending to reheat.
  7. Serve with croutons and garnished with a sprinkle of minced chives on top.

Makes about 4-6 servings.

Parmesan Croutons

4 slices bread, crusts removed, or stale baguette cut into cubes

kosher salt

4 teaspoons grated parmesan cheese

  1. Toss bread cubes with remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil, salt and parmesan.
  2. Spread evenly in one layer on a rimmed baking sheet.  Bake in oven for about 5 minutes.  Stir.  Bake a minute or two more until croutons are toasted.  Remove from sheet and set aside to cool.

As for the award…

Last week,  Judy at Bebe Love Okazu, one of my favorite food blogs, presented me with the Versatile Blogger Award!  Judy blogs about  wonderful Japanese recipes from her childhood which she hopes to pass on to her adorable daughter.  A lot of the dishes are my favorites too — they are true comfort food.  I am so honored to receive this award from her.  Thanks, Judy!

Part of the fun of receiving this award is sharing seven random things about myself, and presenting the award to other bloggers I’ve recently discovered whom I think are fantastic.

Random Facts About Me:

1.   When I lived in Northern Japan right after college, there was no central heating, and it was so cold that I would have to store my contact lens solution in the refrigerator because it was warmer in there than my apartment.

2.  I still have a large scar on my right arm from the time I burned myself with percolating coffee when I was three.  I was trying to make my own breakfast.

3.  I have such bad eyesight, if I take off my glasses while typing this, I can’t even read the headline.

4.  I can eat copious amounts of ice cream every single day.  When I was in Italy, I ate it twice a day.

5.  My name means “honey bee” in Greek.

6.  I am not squeamish when it comes to hearing graphic descriptions of bodily functions, malfunctions, and secretions due to growing up listening to what my mom did at the hospital that day during dinner time every night.

7.  I am addicted to Kenken and must do the two puzzles in the NY Times every morning.

I’ve been reading food blogs for a long time, but since starting my own blog, the quantity has increased exponentially.  It’s amazing how many interesting, inspiring, creative food blogs there are out there.  I wish I  could spend more time reading them every day, but it’s hard juggling work, being a mom, and trying to do it all at home!

That said, I’ve recently discovered several blogs that I’ve been enjoying following, and I would like to present the award to each of them.

1.  A Bountiful Kitchen – Si, I love your recipes and your blog!  And your photography is wonderful.

2.Linda’s Yummies – Linda, you have so many wonderful Pan-Asian recipes on your blog, my mouth is always watering when I visit.

3. How To Baker – Brian, I love the way you give your readers step-by-step instructions on how to bake things.  You make it less intimidating.  I’m still impressed that you make your own bagels too!

4. A Little Yumminess – Simran Stacie, I your Indian recipes and especially enjoy the posts about cooking with your daughter. 🙂

5. Mum in Bloom – Sarah, you have lovely recipes, and it’s always a treat to see vintage children’s book illustrations on your blog.

6. My McDonald Meal – Melissa, I love reading your writing on health and wellness and education — all very important issues.  Plus your recipes are wonderful, and I love seeing the kids cooking!

7.  Mommie Cooks! – Julie, I’m always inspired by your beautiful photography and the amazing food you make.

8.   My Garlic Love Affair– Tina, though I wasn’t born in Hawaii, I did grow up there, visiting all my extended family.  Your blog always makes me feel nostalgic, and I want to eat everything you post.

9.    Fuss Free Cooking – Emily,  I always look forward to your posts, because of your fun writing style, great recipes, and gorgeous photography.

10. Bittersweet – Rick, I love your humor and your totally fun and creative recipes.  Plus, you always enlighten me on all the varieties of candy available. 🙂

There are so many others, but I’ll stop here!  Check out these blogs and see why I love them so much!

16 Comments

Filed under Sides, Soup, Vegetables

16 responses to “Creamy Green Soup with Parmesan Croutons and Award!

  1. I didn’t know you were publishing a book, congratulations! That soup looks so tasty. I love the cheesy croutons and I bet my boys will too.

    I really enjoyed reading the little known facts about you. I’m blind as a bat too. I probably couldn’t see how many fingers I was holding up if they were right in front of my face.

    Thank you so much for the kind words and for passing on this award. I’m sure you agree that it means so much to know that people appreciate what you write. Thanks again for thinking of me!

  2. Hi Melissa,

    Thanks so much for the award. 🙂 I wasn’t aware that you’ve a published cookbook as well. I like the concept of your cookbook, very creative. 🙂

    Good luck with your upcoming publication.

    p/s: I’m amazed that at your attempt on making your own breakfast at the age of 3. I think I was still playing with toy crokery at that age. 😛

  3. Congrats on your book! We love food related kids books and I will buy it for sure (bookmarked it) or a couple for birthday presents. Thanks for mentioning us. Stacie and I are flattered. 🙂

  4. Melissa,
    Thank you so much for your kinds words. I feel I have done my work when folks speak those words. I am lucky to have run into your site as well…thanks to our mutual love of Mollie Katzen!! Look foward to staying connected.
    By the way- you have a very nice name. 😉

    Melissa

  5. yum….ANOTHER SOUP DAY for me and my grandson! fabulous Melissa… and thanks for the list of other FOODY BLOGS!

  6. Thanks about the book!

    It’s not a cookbook though — it’s a children’s picture book about a mom and daughter cooking soup on a winter’s day. The recipe for the “Snowy Day” soup appears on the back page. 🙂

  7. Well-deserved, Melissa! Thank you for the kind words. The soup looks wonderful and I can’t wait to try this – and get your book! Your illustrations are adorable! Can’t wait to read this to my daughter. 🙂

    • Congrats on your upcoming book! It looks beautiful. I’ll have to try the soup when I get a visit from a zucchini fairy (there always seems to be someone trying to get rid of zucchini).

  8. Thank you so much for the award! I love your website too. It is so pretty!

    As for the soup, I love that you have thyme in it. Best herb ever. And you lived in Japan?!?! That is my dream! I want to go there so bad.

  9. Si

    Melissa, thanks for the award! you are very kind. Beautiful blog! I love Japan too.

  10. Your creamy green soup looks divine. I’ve made all sorts of vegetable soups with a basic potato-leek base, but somehow I’ve missed trying zucchini. It’s certainly the season for it!

  11. What a wonderful surprise to find my blog on your list! Thank you so much for the honor 🙂

    How cool is that… honey bee!

    -tina

  12. Thank you for the awesome award!

    I truly agree that the best part about food blogging is connecting with other foodies and sharing in their passion for food. Your blog is definitely one of those passionate ones I enjoy reading!

    We have several friends from Japan so it is always a treat when we get together and cook with them. Those culinary adventures are always enjoyable.

    Thanks again for the award!

  13. Your book looks like it will be a delight, love the premise. Congrats on your award 🙂 Love the flavors in this soup, and the color is beautiful…

  14. Pingback: Jamie’s Soup and My Society 6 Store | The Hungry Artist

Leave a Reply

