Website Redesign and Vegan Lego Mini Cupcakes

For the past few weeks – in between work, travel, and life in general, I’ve been redesigning and coding my website.

I used to work as a web designer way back when, so creating the design and graphics was pretty easy.  But the nuts and bolts process of coding took forever, as I am not very tech savvy.  Now that I am finally finished with the site, I can breathe a sigh of relief!

Please visit at:

www.melissaiwai.com

The redesign includes new sections on school visits, news, and fun downloadable activities for kids.  I welcome suggestions for improving the site (and improving the coding), so please let me know!

*************************************************************

On to some good eats….

Since a handful of kids we know have milk and/or peanut allergies, my go-to recipe for class desserts is a vegan chocolate cake recipe, adapted from The Moosewood Cookbook, called Six Minute Chocolate Cake.  I usually make cupcakes because they are easier to pass out.  And I make mini ones because they are cute, of course, and also because you can eat multiples!

For my son’s birthday party a couple of months ago, I made these Vegan Lego Mini Cupcakes.  The Lego candies were found at FAO Schwarz, and you can actually build with them!

This cake is also a good one to make with children because you can literally mix the whole thing in one bowl with just a wooden spoon.  Also, it’s pretty cool to watch when you pour the cider vinegar in and the batter gets all fizzy – kind of like a fun food science experiment. 🙂

Vegan Chocolate Mini Cupcakes

2 ½ cups flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups sugar

¾ cup vegetable oil

1 ½ cups water

3 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 tablespoons cider vinegar

Frosting and toppings of your choice

(I used store bought non-dairy frosting and Lego candies)

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Prepare a mini muffin pan with mini muffin liners.
  3. Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a large bowl. In a small bowl, combine the oil, water, and vanilla.  Pour into the large bowl and mix with a wooden spoon until the batter is smooth.
  4. Quickly add the cider vinegar.  It will get fizzy as the vinegar and baking soda react.  Stir just until the fizzy, paler part of the batter is incorporated into the rest of the batter.
  5. Spoon into mini cupcake liners.  Bake for about 15-20 minutes, watching closely.  Test with a toothpick.  Cupcakes are ready when it comes out clean.
  6. Cool on racks.  When they are completely cool, you can decorate them with frosting and toppings.

Makes about 48 mini cupcakes.

15 Comments

Filed under Children, Desserts

15 responses to “Website Redesign and Vegan Lego Mini Cupcakes

  1. Melissa- your new redesign is amazing! I love your use of colors.

  2. Pingback: Vegan edible Lego mini chocolate cupcake | Love Cupcakes

  3. Those are adorable and healthy! Didn’t think that could be possible together. Love the legos.

  4. Looks good! I am looking forward to your book..will add it to our list of kiddie food books as soon as we get it! 🙂

  5. How cute are these! I’ve never heard of adding cider vinegar to chocolate cake but it definitely sounds fun! And I love mini cupcakes. I think that’s great that you used pre-made frosting. Sometimes I feel pressured to make everything from scratch but I’m becoming more practical in my new time-pressed life. 🙂 I so wish we had an FAO in our neighborhood! Congrats again on your new site! 🙂

  6. Your redesign looks great! I didn’t realize you had another site, I’m definitely going to need to check it out a bit more.

    These cupcakes are great! I love love love the lego toppers. My boys are addicted to legos, I know they’d love these!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  7. These are so cute 🙂 I will check out your site too…

  8. That is a wonderful site…I don’t have little ones but I have friends as well as quite a few followers that do. So I added your facebook page to my pages favorites 🙂 You are quite talented…

  9. Your new design is beautiful, I loved it.

Leave a Reply

