Fall Harvest Soup

Since moving to the east coast fourteen years ago, I’ve been happily experiencing the four seasons that my native state lacks.  It’s Autumn now, and we feel it here!  Time to break out the hats, scarves, and gloves soon.  I see people still walking around in shorts, but I’m a wimp when it comes to the cold.

I thought this would be a good time to share a Harvest Soup recipe I created this summer.  It features the flavors of butternut squash and sweet potato.  I also add some apple for a bit of sweetness and cinnamon and cumin for some spice.

It is a wonderful bowl of comfort on a brisk autumn day.

*For people in the area:  I will be doing a book event at Book Court in Brooklyn (163 Court St./@Dean) this Sunday (10/17) at 11 am.  Come join me for a reading of Soup Day, some soup, and some kid crafts and activities!

Fall Harvest Soup

(Roasted Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup)

4 1/2 cups cubed butternut squash (about one small squash)

2 cups sweet potato, cubed (about 1 medium sweet potato)

2 tablespoon olive oil, divided

Kosher salt to taste

¾ cup chopped red onion

1 large apple, peeled, cored, and cubed

1 garlic clove, minced

4 cups vegetable or chicken stock

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground cumin

  1. Place two large rimmed baking sheets in oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Toss cubes of butternut squash and sweet potato with one tablespoon olive oil in a large bowl.  Sprinkle with salt.  Spread vegetables out on heated baking sheets in one layer and roast for about 15-20 minutes until they are soft and starting to caramelize, stirring vegetables about halfway into roasting period.
  3. Heat remaining tablespoon oil in a large soup pot on stove.  Sauté red onion and chopped apple until onions are translucent, about 3-5 minutes.  Add minced garlic, sauté until fragrant.  Add cinnamon and cumin.  Add roasted vegetables to pot.  Stir to combine.  Then add stock to pot.
  4. Simmer soup for about 10 minutes.  Carefully blend soup with a hand held immersion blender until soup is smooth.  Alternatively, blend soup in batches in a blender (never fill blender more than half full), covering lid (remove plastic center first) with dish towel. Hold lid down while blending on low speed. Return to pot after blending.
  5. Stir in heavy cream if you desire.  Serve.

Makes 6 servings.

  • To prepare butternut squash, cut neck off. Peel with a vegetable peeler like a cucumber.  Slice lengthwise into ½-inch slices, then cubes.  Peel bottom portion of squash, and cut lengthwise in half.  Remove seeds with a melon baller or spoon.  Cut into ½-inch thick half rounds (or “C”s). Cut these into cubes.
  • You can also sometimes find already packaged and prepared cubed butternut squash if you want to skip this step.
13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Fall Harvest Soup

  1. Mmm! I love soup… all different kinds. I’ve made butternut squash soup before but never paired it with sweet potato. I will need to give this one a try. Maybe for Thanksgiving as a starter! 🙂

    P.S. – It is finally FALL here and I ran out to do errands in a thin long sleeve shirt and was wondering if I should break out my scarves and psuedo-Winter gear. 🙂 Not sure if we’ll get to gloves… maybe in another month if I’m actually out at night (which is rare). Haha.

  2. Amy

    This soup sounds delicious! I love sweet potatoes and squash…even better when they are combined! Great recipe :)!

  3. I love the addition of the apple in this recipe. What type do you suggest?

  4. Love the illustration….this just reminded me I have to order your book! I think it released already

  5. Butternut squash is the best soup of all time. And yours looks stunning.

  6. Kate R

    I made this soup last night. My kitchen smelled like a warm fall day when the cumin and cinnamon hit the hot pot with the apples, onion and garlic. Amazing! I had rosemary bread that I toasted and ate with the soup. A perfect dinner. Thank you for sharing!

  7. I love this healthy soup. Can’t wait to give it a try. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

