Peanut Butter Filled Pretzel Cookies

Last week my friend, Jessica, posted a fantastic recipe in the comments section of my Experimenting with Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour post.

Did any of you see it?  It’s a recipe for chocolate chip cookies made with added peanut flour and Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels.  They have a delicious peanutty flavor that harmonizes with the chocolate chips.  The pretzels give the cookies a nice salty note and crunch that contrasts with the chewy cookie texture.

Do you see that piece of crunchy goodness?

It is too good a recipe to let go undetected by other readers, so I am featuring it in this post (with Jessica’s blessing – thanks Jessica!)

Check out her new site also.   She’s opening a cute crafts space/store for kids in Durham, NC.  Jessica is a talented artist and amazing baker.  For my baby shower in 2004 she made me the most gorgeous chocolate cake which she decorated by creating some illustrations from my books – out of white chocolate!

Sheep are from Good Night Engines. Moon face is from a promo I did.

We saved the little pieces of chocolate art for a year and ate them while celebrating the anniversary of Jamie’s birth – his first birthday.

Now years later, my “baby” helps me bake goodies in the kitchen.  He and I made Jessica’s cookies to bring to his Didi and Mimette’s (grandparents’) house this past weekend, where they were happily devoured.

After playing in the snow, these cookies hit the spot.  Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Filled Pretzel Cookies

2 sticks butter
1 c brown sugar
1/2 c sugar

2 eggs
1 T vanilla
3/4 t baking powder
2 c flour
1/2 c peanut flour
2 c peanut butter pretzels
1 c chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream butter and sugars together in a stand mixer until fluffy.
  3. Add egg and vanilla, beat again.
  4. Whisk together baking powder and flours together in another bowl.  Slowing add this to batter while mixer is on lowest setting.
  5. Add peanut butter pretzels and chocolate chips.  Stir until evenly incorporated.
  6. Roll into 1″ sized balls and flatten on a baking sheet lined with parchment or Silpat liners leaving about 2″ in between cookies.
  7. Bake in oven for about 14 minutes, switching positions of pans halfway through.
  8. Cool on sheets for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.
12 Comments

Filed under Children, Cookies, Desserts

12 responses to “Peanut Butter Filled Pretzel Cookies

  1. I have to buy some of this peanut flour. It seems like all of a sudden there are so many recipes i want to try whuch are using this flour..hehe.

    No wonder these cookies were “happily devoured”, they look fabulous!

  2. Mmm… yummy cookies. I haven’t had cookies since Christmas!! SHare share! :p

  3. What a wonderful cookie recipe. I love peanut butter. It’s so sad that my bebe is allergic to peanuts! 😦 Thanks for sharing your baby shower cake. The artwork is beautiful, as are the pictures of winter-wonderland! Have a great weekend, Melissa!

  4. Nice! These sound excellent, and what a great way to imbue more peanut flavor into the cookie! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Peanut flour! Neat! I think there’s only one store in town that sells it. I need some.

  6. Thanks, you guys!
    Anna, I get my peanut flour from Trader Joe’s. Is there one near you?

  7. I love using peanut flour, and these cookies look fantastic 🙂 I bet the peanut butter pretzels had a fun crunch too…

  8. Dawn

    My other half has a gluten allergy and he uses this trader joe’s peanut flour in a lot of things, he even puts it in shakes. I will love to try and make this recipe but do you think using rice flour would be an ok substitute for the white flour?

  9. I’ve never used rice flour before. But I saw this on the Celiac Sprue Association site — it’s a mixture of rice, potato starch and tapioca starch that is similar to all-purpose flour:
    http://www.csaceliacs.org/recipes/FlourFormulas.php

    Good luck!

  10. YUM YUM YUM!!! I’ve never heard of peanut butter flour, but I got to Trader Joes, so I’m getting some and making these cookies pronto!! Sounds soo good, the sweet and the salty! HEAVEN!!

Leave a Reply

