Snowy Day Vegetable Soup

Winter.  Frigid mornings.  Snow piled up.  Dry skin.  It takes about ten minutes minimum for the three of us to get bundled up, don our jackets, hats, scarves, gloves, boots, and finally step outside.  We are still in the thick of it too — the Weather Channel says it feels like 17 degrees outside right now.

My son was home all last week with a nasty ear infection.  To comfort him and get some nourishing goodness into his system, I made Snowy Day Vegetable Soup from my book, Soup Day.

This is the last page of the book -- the recipe.

It’s the perfect remedy for a cold, icky day, and my son loves it.  I added a bit of cooked chicken at the end from some added protein.  He’s all better this week, thankfully!

There are several bloggers out there who’ve made it with their kids.  It’s very simple and a good way to get some vegetables in your family’s diet.

Sales of  Soup Day are going pretty well.  It sold out of its first printing about a month and and a half after its release.  I am about halfway to meeting the required sales amount to get my sequel!  Please help me out and buy a copy for the budding little chef/chefs in your life!    (If you’ve already done that, tell your friends! 🙂  )

Yesterday,  I braved the cold and visited the same two Kindergarten classes at P.S. 142 I mentioned in a previous post, and read it to them.  Afterward, we did a soup bowl collage craft together.  They loved coloring, cutting and gluing their paper pieces of vegetables and dried pasta to their bowls.

Hard at work coloring vegetables...

Making soup...

One of the finished soup collages!

If you’d like to do this craft with your child, feel free to download the activity sheet off my website.  There is also a related Hidden Pictures puzzle there as well.

Enjoy! 🙂

Snowy Day Vegetable Soup

1 tablespoon oil

1 cup diced onion

½ cup diced carrots

1 cup diced celery

kosher salt to taste

6 cups chicken, vegetable, or beef stock

2 cups peeled and cubed potatoes

½ cup carrots, sliced into rounds

2 cups zucchini, sliced into rounds

1 cup sliced mushrooms

½ teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1 teaspoon dried thyme

3 oz. dried pasta of choice

¼ cup packed chopped parsley leaves

  1. Heat oil in a heavy bottomed stock pot over medium high heat.  When oil is hot, add diced onions, carrots, celery and pinch of salt to pot.  Saute until onions are soft and translucent.
  2. Add stock.  Increase to high and bring to a simmer.  Once simmering, add potatoes, carrot rounds, zucchini and mushrooms to pot.  Add pepper, thyme, and salt to taste.  Reduce heat to low; cover and cook until vegetables are fork tender, about 15- 20 minutes.
  3. Bring water to boil in a medium sauce pan.  Add a pinch of salt to water.  When water comes to a boil, add pasta and cook to an al dente doneness according to package instructions.  Drain and add to vegetable soup just before serving.
  4. Season to taste with salt and paper and garnish soup with chopped parsley.

Makes 6 servings.

Note:  Please take care to keep children at a distance from burners on the stove.

16 Comments

Filed under Art Related, chicken, Children, Soup, Vegetables

16 responses to “Snowy Day Vegetable Soup

  1. Joanne Friar

    Melissa,
    This weekend my husband and I will be picking up our son, his wife, and their new baby boy in Boston when they arrive after a long day of flying from their home in Fairbanks. I’ll be mixing up some Snowy Day vegetable soup, a nice crusty loaf of bread, and a tired but happy family. Easy supper, relaxed Grandma!
    (I love your recipes).

  2. Thanks for dropping by my blog. This soup is so comforting with a ton of veggies to ward off the cold!

  3. Great recipe! Ideal for snowy days and any other day! LOve the photos.

    Have a great day 🙂

  4. kat

    what a great way to warm up and keep busy on a snowy day 🙂

  5. Congrats on the strong sales of Soup Day! The soup looks yummy.

  6. I love this classic soup and how you added thyme! I am going to try this, but first, I think I better order your book. Your illustrations are so wonderful. You are so talented! I can’t wait to be able to cook w/ Bebe. Stay warm my friend, and as much as you might envy our weather in So. Cal. some of us are longing for a snow day… Have a wonderful weekend, Melissa!

  7. great great activity…such fun while the soup cooks too I’d guess…. nice all day activity with child or grandchild…must remember this! 🙂

  8. Amo

    This vegetable soup sounds delicious! I can’t wait to give it a try! I am so happy to have found your blog and this Soup Day giveaway! I now subscribe to your blog!

    I entered to win the Soup Day Book Giveaway @ Familylicious Reviews! Stop by and enter at http://familylicious.com/

  9. Oh man!!! Can I come over to your house. This looks so wonderful and such fun. I really like your blog. Very nice and warm over here. I have to make this delicious soup and soon. I still don’t think it will be as good and comforting as yours he he he he.
    thanks for stopping by.
    V

  10. Makes me feel all warm and cozy inside.

  11. your book is wonderful and my daughter loves it!

  12. It’s so good to know your son is feeling better. Ear infections are painful 😦

    I have to get your book…i have a feeling i would reallyyyy like it 🙂

  13. Barbara

    Hello! We got your book out of the library and my 3 1/2 year old daughter LOVES it ! We read it about 10 times a day. We can’t wait to buy our own copy. The illustrations are so beautiful. My daughter loves art – she paints and colors all day long. We are going to the store today to buy the ingredients to make the soup together.
    Thank you for your lovely writing and illustrations.

  14. polly

    your book looks so great! i entered to win th the soup day book giveaway @ familyicious reviews.

  15. A delicious healthy soup and a fun craft to do with the kids!

  16. Hi! I just discovered your website on Familylicious where a review was done on SoupDay. I love it. I don’t have any idea how I’m going to pick 1 thing to leave as a comment from your site!!!! I wish I could of watched your Cooking Light adventure. That would of been really neat.

    If you would ever like a book review & giveaway done for Soup Day (or another book you’ve written) just let me know. I’d love to help you market it. I have a Montessori preschool I work with that teaches the kids Japanese – the owner would love your book and website!

    Tina “The Book Lady”

Leave a Reply

