Good Night! Wake Up!

Bake Sale Update:

Thanks for all your comments of support about the Bake Sale for Japan event last week!  The organizers said our table generated close to $5,000.  The most recent tally of the sale as a whole (nationwide) is $124,120.38!

***************************************************************

A book I illustrated was just released April 1.  It’s the flip board book version of Good Night Engines and Wake Up Engines written by Denise Dowling-Mortensen.  These books are a favorite among young children who are obsessed with cars, trucks, airplanes and other vehicles on the go.  In this newly released version, you get both stories in one cute small package.  It’s available in bookstores and online.

Good Night Engines side of book

I painted the original Good Night Engines in 2002.  At the time I wanted a child so badly and was worried that maybe it would never become a reality for us.  I thought, prayed, dreamt about it all the time while painting the illustrations for this book.  I like to think that all that creative energy was channeled into making my dreams come true, because by the time the book came out—a year after I finished the paintings, I was pregnant with our son, Jamie.  And when I see the boy in these paintings, I see my son’s face. 🙂

Wake Up Engines side of book

Onto recipes…. speaking of waking up….

If you haven’t noticed yet, the Easter candy made its way onto shelves some time in mid-March.  We are Cadbury mini egg fiends, and this is the magical time of year when they are available.  Luckily (or unluckily) for us, they have been on sale, and we’ve been enjoying them by the bagfuls.

On weekends as a treat, my husband makes breakfast for us – usually pancakes, popovers, or waffles.  His most recent creation, which we enjoyed last weekend involved our booty of Cadbury eggs.

You’ve got to try these out — they are light and delicious, and contrary to what you might think– not overly sweet!

Decadent Cadbury Egg Waffles

Nonstick spray

2 cups flour

½ teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 ½ cups milk

2 eggs separated

½ stick butter, melted and cooled

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

12 mini Cadbury eggs

  1. Crush Cadbury eggs in a Ziploc bag, or roughly chop on a cutting board.  Set aside.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Mix together the milk and the egg yolks.  Stir in the butter and vanilla extract.  Stir the wet into the dry ingredients.
  4. Spray waffle iron with spray and preheat.
  5. Beat the egg whites with a whisk until they hold soft peaks.  Stir gently into the batter.
  6. Spread about ½ cup of batter onto waffle iron.  Scatter a few bits of Cadbury egg onto each quadrant of the batter.   Bake until waffle is done.  Serve immediately.

Makes about 6 waffles.

15 Comments

Filed under Art Related, Breakfast, chicken

15 responses to “Good Night! Wake Up!

  1. Joy

    My daughter would be giddy with excitement if I made that. They look wonderful.

  2. What a great idea…it sure would be a nice treat for Easter brunch. Have a great week 🙂

  3. Wow congratulations on both the bake sale and your new book 🙂
    The waffles definitely look delicious, I have not had a waffle in such a long time.

  4. Cadbury egg waffles are ingenius but your book is gorgeous! It is so rewarding to hear about how your dreams became a reality. Life imitates art and vice versa!

  5. you are a wonderful artist and cook! love the waffles with the cadbury eggs. intriguing

    • Thanks — I hope you try ’em sometime. You can also put other things in — I feel like a bad parent saying this, but my husband is also known to add Reese’s pieces and m & ms when Cadbury eggs are not available…

  6. Congrats on the success of your bake sale! Your illustrations are amazing and I think my daughter would enjoy this book. She seems to have taken an interest in things that “go”. I can relate to how you must feel about being sentimental of the little boy in your illustrations. We too, feel very fortunate for our little one after a rough start.

    As for these waffles . . . I’m afraid to make these because my family would likely refuse to ever eat plain waffles again but perhaps I’ll treat them to these on Easter. That way I’ll have an excuse to say that I can only make them ONCE a year. 🙂

  7. Your book looks so cute. Whenever i have kids….i am getting it for him/her.
    And those waffles must have tasted awesome. Anything wuth those cadbury eggs tastes brilliant …hehe

  8. Ginormous congrats to you on your bakesale and book!! I hope you did some serious celebrating. And.. wowzers with those pancakes. I think your hubster’s a keeper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

