Matzo Almond Roca

OK, here’s another quick post because I have a scary deadline!

This is a great way to use up all the leftover matzo crackers after Passover.  Or… it’s great to make anytime of year — whether or not you observe Passover at all!

I’ve been making this forever.  I even gave some to Joan Rivers, who loooved it and said I could make a fortune on it.  Unfortunately, I did not make up the recipe, so I can’t take credit for it.

Here is the fabulous recipe from David Lebovitz (who apparently adapted it from Marcy Goldman of betterbaking.com).

I decided to lighten it slightly, but cutting the caramel toffee part in half.  In the past, I’ve found it to be a little too sweet and decadent.  Also, instead of baking the toffee layer first, I spread the chocolate on soon after spreading on the toffee layer and sprinkled the almonds on top and then baked it, as I have seen in another recipe that uses this more streamlined technique.  It was still delicious and went quickly. Seriously folks, this stuff is addictive!


Matzo Almond Roca

4 sheets of matzo crackers

1/2 stick butter (I used salted– if you use unsalted, add a pinch of salt to toffee mixture with vanilla)

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup sliced almonds, toasted

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with foil.  Place matzo crackers on sheet.  Break into pieces to make it all fit on the edges.  Set aside.

2.  Melt butter and sugar together in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil and cook for about 3 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.  Pour over matzo crackers.  Spread around to coat each cracker. Let cool slightly.

3.  Melt chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave, stirring at 30 second intervals.  Pour chocolate over toffee covered matzo.  Spread around to cover.  Sprinkle with toasted almonds.

4.  Put pan into oven and bake for about 5 minutes.

5.  Remove and let cool to room temperature.  Then freeze in freezer for about an hour.  Break into pieces.  Store pieces in a container –it will keep for a week, but it probably will be eaten much faster!

Note:  If making for Passover, you can omit the vanilla or use a kosher brand.  We do not keep kosher, so I used it.

This is what your pan should look like before baking.

Enjoy!

12 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

12 responses to “Matzo Almond Roca

  1. i haven’t tried matzo almond rocas but i like the way yours look. my husband eats something similar but it has sesame seeds in them. i don’t like those much but these look so much better!

    hope you had a relaxing easter 🙂

  2. Thanks — hope you did too!
    I think you could probably make it with Saltines as well. 🙂

  3. oh no! this DOES look sooo addicting!!! almond roca is one of my favorite childhood candy treats (my grandpa used to have them around their house ALL the time). i think my step daughter would love this too. AND… i have some saltines in the pantry… 🙂 hope you and your family had a nice easter!

  4. oooh, it looks addictive! I’ve heard of this and glad to have found a recipe; especially one that lessened the amount of sweetness!

  5. I’ve always wanted to try one of these recipes but they never intrigued me as much as this! It has this nice elegant flair to it.

  6. These look so delightful…I may never stop snacking 🙂 Good luck with your deadline…I know it will be great 🙂

  7. Wow, this is something that I can see myself eating without stopping…looks great for snacks…crunchy! Have a great week ahead Melissa 🙂

  8. I am not very familiar with matzo….I am craving sugar right now and this looks so good!

    • You usually only see it around during Passover. Actually before I moved to NYC, I don’t think I remember ever seeing it… You could use Saltines in place of the matzo for this recipe — or even Graham crackers!

  9. Karen

    Hi! How many people does this feed? I have 21 at our Passover dinner tomorrow, I’m bringing the dessert. Is it enough to double it or do I need more? (Our usual dessert person had a brand-new grandchild yesterday!, so I think this will only be one of 2 desserts.)

    I made this year’s ago, but fell out of the habit, I love this stuff, thanks for the recipe.

    Do you have a recipe for a cake made with matzoh meal? She makes it with a brandy (?) sauce that she pours over at the last minute, it’s so good, but I don’t want to bother her right now! I have no name for this

    Thanks,
    Karen

    • Hi,
      I think if you double it, it would be enough, but the stuff is so addicting, I guess it depends on how much people eat! lol. You could always triple it and have leftovers — believe me, it WILL get eaten!

      I don’t have a good cake recipe with matzoh meal, unfortunately. The one you describe sounds amazing! Maybe you should try googling it? I bet you can find something!

      Hope you have a nice Passover dinner!

Leave a Reply

