Kahlua Chocolate Cream Pie

My recent dilemma:  Hot summer days + loads of work + minimal child care + entertaining guests.

My solution:  Have a grill (i.e. husband does the cooking) and serve a pre-made  dessert that requires minimal stove/oven time on my part.

Since we are chocolate fiends, whenever I make a special dessert, it invariably has chocolate in it (even with the abundance of gorgeous seasonal fruit these days)!   I also still have two large bottles of Kahlua that I got duty free last summer, so I infused this dessert with said liquor.

The Chocolate Kahlua Cream Pie is adapted from a Cooking Light recipe for Rich Chocolate Pudding Pie.  It’s “light” in that the filling is not made with heavy cream and a ton of egg yolks, like a typical custard.  Cornstarch is the thickening agent that gives the milk its pudding consistency.   This pie is fantastic and doesn’t taste light at all.

I changed the original recipe by making a Reduced Fat Oreo cookie crust (I couldn’t find plain chocolate wafers at the store), which is just processed cookies mixed with melted butter, pressed into a pie pan and baked for ten minutes.  Easy peasy!

I also added Kahlua to the filling and dusted the pie with unsweetened cocoa powder and served it with homemade whipped cream also flavored with a bit of Kahlua.

If you love chocolate and Kahlua as much as I do, you will love this pie. 🙂

Kahlua Chocolate Cream Pie

Crust:
16 Reduced Fat Oreo cookies

4 tablespoons melted butter

Filling:

¾ cup sugar

¼ cup cornstarch

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ¾ cups 1% low-fat milk, divided

2 large egg yolks

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

2 tablespoons Kahlua
Topping:

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 tablespoon confectioner’s sugar, sifted

1 teaspoon Kahlua

1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa

  1. Process Oreos in processor until finely ground.  Transfer to a large bowl.  Drizzle melted butter on top and mix to incorporate.  Pour mixture into pie dish and spread out.  Put a sheet of saran wrap over mixture and press out to edges to form a crust.  Chill for about 10 to 15 minutes while preheating oven to 350.
  2. Bake crust for 10 minutes.  Cool completely.
  3. To prepare filling, combine sugar, cornstarch, cocoa and salt in a large saucepan;  stir with a whisk.  Add half of milk and 2 yolks; stir with a whisk until smooth.  Stir in the remaining milk.  Cook over medium heat for 5 minutes or until thick and bubbly, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Add the chopped chocolate and stir until smooth.  Stir in Kahlua.  Pour filling into prepared crust.   Cover with saran; chill 4 hours until set.
  4. To make topping, whip cream on high in the bowl of a cold stand mixer just before stiff peaks form.  Add sugar and Kahlua and whip until stiff peaks form, being careful not to overwhip.
  5. Just before serving pie, cover with whipped topping and garnish with cocoa powder sifted on top.

Makes about 8-10 servings.

8 Comments

Filed under Desserts

8 responses to “Kahlua Chocolate Cream Pie

  1. Always you have nice ideas!

  2. Cheryl

    Kahlua and chocolate are two of my favorite things! I used to make my own kahlua (so easy to do) but I’m loving the bottle in which yours came. I must make this pie!

  3. Great summer pie recipe! Kahlua & chocolate is a very popular flavor combo, so I am sure that this pie disappeared rather quickly. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I absolutely agree with you! Grill, light desserts….enjoying LIFE!! Great recipe 🙂

  5. Sounds like our summer except for the hot days we never get in SF. We are chocolate fiends as well, so I can see this being well-received! Though I try not to make dessert often….light ones too 🙂

  6. Hi Melissa, I love Kahlua Cream Pie! Well, I love an ice cream cake version of this, so I’m certain to love this pie. It sounds so decadent and right-up my chocolate fiend alley. 🙂 I hope you’ve been well. We recently returned from a long vacay but I still can’t seem to get back into the swing of things. Happy Summer!

  7. Ohhh.. I’ve got loads of Kahlua on hand… I’m making this pie. The creaminess and crunchiness is screaming my name!!!

  8. I have to comment on this too. It looks so delicious and the flavors are perfect for summer. Everyone has Kahlua in the back of the cabinet. Not sure why though. But it is good!

Leave a Reply

