Summer of Harry Potter and White Chocolate Popcorn with Chocolate Chips

I can’t believe this week will officially mark the end of our summer.  It will always be remembered as the one filled with mounds of work (I can faintly make out the light at the end of the tunnel, but still in the thick of things, hence a short post….) and Harry Potter.

My son’s friend recently told him, “Harry Potter is SO yesterday…”, but not for us.  We’ve been reading the books all summer and then watching the films afterwards.  We just finished The Order of the Phoenix (we try to read a few chapters ahead of our son to make sure it is not too scary), so that is the next movie up.

The films are never as good as the books they are based on, but it’s fun to watch them and see what parts were edited out and see how each was interpreted by the different directors.  Also it’s intriguing to watch the actors actually grow up and mature on screen — though it gives me a little pang knowing that I’ll soon be seeing the same process in my son…

Every now and then a good, decadent popcorn is in order. Our Sunday movie time is one such time.  So while we’re enjoying watching the 5th installment of the Harry Potter saga tomorrow, we’ll be munching on this.

White Chocolate Popcorn with Chocolate Chips

Note:  I have an air popper which I love, but it is easy to make popcorn on the stove.  A great method for getting evenly popped corn can be found here.

About 6-8 cups popped corn (made from 1/4 to 1/3 cups unpopped kernels)

1/4 cup white chocolate baking chips (I used Guittard)

1-2 tablespoons butter

1-2 teaspoons milk

Kosher or sea salt to taste

A handful of chocolate chips (just because)

1.  Melt butter and chocolate in a double boiler or in a microwave-safe bowl at 30 second intervals on high.  Whisk butter and chocolate together, then stir in milk gradually to thin out to a sauce consistency.

2.  Pour over popped corn.  I did it in two batches and mixed the last half in the bowl of melted chocolate.  Season with salt to taste.   Toss in chocolate chips. Serve immediately, passing out napkins for sticky fingers!

21 Comments

Filed under Children, Desserts

21 responses to “Summer of Harry Potter and White Chocolate Popcorn with Chocolate Chips

  1. We did the same with our son when he was little. We are behind by a couple of books, but are just getting through them together. This snack may just NEED to become part of our movie watching!

  2. hi melissa, we looove harry potter! i’ve read all the books and my family has watched all of the movies. my husband and i love to snack on popcorn late at night during our dvd/movie dates at home. i must try this recipe as it sounds absolutely delicious – perfect mix of sweet and salty! thanks! happy labor day weekend!

  3. I would do the same thing with my kids one day too..

  4. Yay! I’m so happy you guys are reading Harry! He is not so yesterday, he’ll be around forever!

  5. Perfect snack for the perfect movie! I LOVE IT!! I have the white chocolate chips…. can’t hurt to try this and get sticky fingers 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday.

  6. I WILL be trying this! gals movie night (old movies!) 🙂
    and Harry Potter will never be ‘so yesterday’;….like any good narrative it bares rereading. 🙂 enjoy… happy laborless day. 🙂

  7. You know what? I have never touched neither one of the Harry Potter books nor have I seen any of the films. At least the first is something I deeply regret and once there is more time on my hands again, I am sure I will. I love popcorn and I am sure white chocolate covered ones are to die for!

    Cheers,
    Tobias

  8. Liz

    Oh, this looks like a fabulous snack! Harry Potter is destined to be a classic~

  9. Liz

    PS…Congrats on the Top 9!!!

  10. Susan Horsfall

    You AMAZE me!! xo

  11. this popcorn sounds awesome. and the end of summer is crazy. where did this year go??

  12. making special popcorns is such fun. i luv the added sweetness from the white chocolate

Leave a Reply

