Brooklyn Museum Children’s Book Fair and Roasted Tomato Soup

It’s steadily getting chillier these days.  This means it’s great soup weather.  What’s more comforting than coming home to a toasty kitchen and a hot bowl of goodness?

I’m doing more book events this season to promote my book, Soup Day, which takes place during the cold winter months.  This coming Saturday (November 19) I, along with more than 30 local Brooklyn authors, including Peter Brown (Children Make Terrible Pets), Tad Hills (How Rocket Learned to Read), my friend Kate Hosford (Big Bouffant), will be at the 5th Annual Children’s Book Fair at the Brooklyn Museum from 12-4.  Please come join us if you are in the area!

Last year when Soup Day was released, I mentioned that I had written a sequel that hopefully will be published once I sell a certain number of copies of the book (this provision is an indication of how difficult it is to sell a picture book manuscript these days!  About five years ago this wouldn’t be an issue).  Well, I’ve heard from my editor that I’m only a couple thousand copies away so I’m asking you all to help me reach my goal!  Please support my cause by buying a copy of the book for a budding chef in your life!  it is a great way to introduce young kids to the joy of cooking.

“Back at home we wash the vegetables. Then Mommy chops everything into different shapes. The celery and onions become tiny squares. The carrots become circles. The potatoes become cubes. The parsley becomes confetti.”

The book was designed so well by Patrick Collins at Henry Holt.  The pages are slightly thicker than regular paper and the cover and pages have rounded corners which are perfect for young children — such a thoughtful touch by Patrick!  It also has a lower price point ($12.99 v.s $16.99) than a traditional picture book.

I leave you with a new soup recipe I developed — Sweet Roasted Tomato Soup.  Roasting the vegetables brings out their natural sweetness.  I added carrots for flavor and texture — they are  a great natural thickener packed full of vitamins and fiber.  A dash of sugar at the end and optional heavy cream stirred in rounds out the flavors.  I also made Parmesan Croutons with an old baguette.  Enjoy!

Sweet Roasted Tomato Soup

6 Roma tomatoes, halved

2 medium carrots, sliced into ½ -inch slices

kosher salt and pepper to taste

5 teaspoons olive oil, divided

1 large onion chopped, about 2 cups

3 cloves of garlic mashed and minced

½ teaspoon dried basil

½ teaspoon dried oregano

14 oz. can of diced tomatoes

3 cups chicken or vegetable stock

1-2 teaspoons sugar

¼ cup heavy cream (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Toss tomatoes and carrots in 1 tablespoon olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Spread in a single layer on baking sheet lined with foil.  Roast tomato halves cut side up.
  3. Roast in oven for 30 minutes, stirring carrot pieces halfway through.
  4. Remove from oven and set aside.  Heat remaining 2 teaspoons oil in large soup pot on stove over medium heat.  Add onions and garlic and season with a bit of kosher salt, basil, and oregano.  Saute until onions are transparent, stirring often.
  5. Add roasted vegetables to pot along with canned tomatoes and broth.  Bring to boil, turn down heat and simmer for 15 minutes.
  6. Alternatively, blend soup in batches in a blender (never fill blender more than half full), while covering lid (remove plastic center first) with dish towel.  Hold lid down while blending on low speed. Blend until soup is completely pureed and lump free. Return to pot after blending to reheat.
  7. Add sugar and salt and pepper to taste.  Add heavy cream if desired and stir to incorporate.

Makes 4-6 servings.

16 Comments

Filed under Art Related, Children, Soup, Soup, Vegetables, Vegetarian

16 responses to “Brooklyn Museum Children’s Book Fair and Roasted Tomato Soup

  1. will try this for grand kids coming for TG days…:) yummy sounding…

  2. This looks so wonderful, a great take on two basics by combining them!

  3. We make a similar soup and this is perfect as the weather turns cooler. Wish we could be there. Your book is one of our favorites!

  4. You’re a genius Bubba; that soup looks fabulous.

    Can you make one with goat cheese, please? 🙂

  5. Amy

    Your book looks awesome! This soup sounds perfect for the chilly months, and I love the color! I think I could eat more than one bowl in a sitting ;)!

  6. Hi Melissa! I just made your soup and it was absolutely delicious. It has just turned cold here and I still had some garden tomatoes. Perfectly timed post. 🙂 I didn’t have the right bread for croutons, so I just shaved some Parmesan on as a garnish.
    Hope all is well with you.

    • Hi Monica!
      Oh my gosh-I was just thinking of you ! We recently saw Ethan and Brendan after not seeing them for sooo long. Reminiscing about those lunches we used to do with the babes…. 🙂
      Hope you are well! Glad you liked the soup!

  7. I am glad I saw this – I just ordered Soup Day for our granddaughters. Their mom recently wrote a potato soup recipe for a Snowy Soupy Day…and I’m sure they would all like your tomato soup, too!

  8. Sandra

    thanks for Soup Day! My son and I really enjoyed your book, ….the illustrations and story really caught my attention as I am always looking for positive messages about healthy food. There is way too many childrens books that send the wrong message regarding green food.
    Much to my surprise there was a bonus recipe. It was a great activity with my son (4), he even wanted to help out! It amazed me that I had made many a soup in the past but never thought to make a vegetable soup such as this. I especially liked the parsley confetti idea…such a fun way to introduce shapes, colors, textures and good eating. In our house now ….we regularily have soup days.

    • Thank you so much for getting the book and posting about it. I never really know what’s going on with the book unless people tell me, so thank you so much for taking the time to do that! I’m glad your son liked it and helped you make the soup! Made my day. 🙂

  9. Great soup – and good luck with your book. I loved, and still have the 2 cookbooks I was given as a child – both Christmas gifts.

  10. Just ordered your book from Amazon. Soooo happy for you. Kudos to you on all your work. That’s fantastic you will work on book #2! And that soup look divine!

Leave a Reply

