Brooklyn Children’s Museum Literacy Quilt Exhibit

Muriel's 2012 WOW Brooklyn quilt. My square is the girl in the center.

Last year I was invited to participate in a quilt project developed by Muriel Feldshuh.  Muriel is a wonderful literacy advocate. After “retiring” after 30+ years working as a librarian, she continues to be actively involved in the Books for Kids Foundation which promotes literacy among youths.  One of the organization’s projects is to launch children’s libraries in under served areas.

Photo credit: Sara Heidinger

Since 1997, Muriel has been inviting authors and illustrators to illustrate a square of the quilt, which she then pieces together by hand.  Her beautiful quilts are displayed all over the country.  I had participated in the past when she made her 2009 quilt and was happy to do it again last year when Soup Day came out.  I painted a version of my character reading instead of eating soup. 🙂

Check out the back of the postcard which has a list of all the participating artists:

I especially love the Ezra Jack Keats one from “A Letter to Amy” –such a wonderful book!
This Saturday (March 3, 2012) is the grand opening for the literacy quilt to be on display at the Brooklyn Children’s Museum (145 Brooklyn Avenue (at St. Marks Avenue), Brooklyn, NY 11213).  I will be there along with other artists to read and talk to the children.  My scheduled slot is 12-1 pm.  I’ll be reading Soup Day and talking about how I created the artwork for the book.  I used all different types of materials, from painted paper, origami paper, cotton balls, photographs, to dried pasta and sequins to make my collages.  I then scanned them into the computer and cleaned them up and added details, such as falling snow, some shadows, a bit of frost on the window panes…

This is the original collage. The snow is made of paper towel and the girl's jacket is trimmed with cotton.

This is after I added snow, frost, and a tree in Adobe Photoshop.

At the museum, I’ll do a collage demo and help kids make their own collage creations there.

If you are in the area, please come by and join us and celebrate reading and books!  Also, please pass the information on to folks you think might be interested.  Thanks!

10 Comments

Filed under Art Related, Children

10 responses to “Brooklyn Children’s Museum Literacy Quilt Exhibit

  1. OH MY this is SUCH a wonderful thing to be a part of! how special and what a crew of the who’s who~ love how your’s stands right out too. BIG HUG…

  2. Muriel Feldshuh

    Thank You Melissa for including my Traveling Quilt Exhibit Celebrating Children’s Books in your wonderful Hungry Artist blog. My quilts have been traveling across The United States and have visited many children’s museums. The beautiful ‘green bean’ square you did for a previous quilt has been enjoyed by many children and adults as well. I’m sure that the new square you completed for my Brooklyn quilt will be loved by anyone who sees it. It is generous and talented illustrators like you who have made this project so much fun for me. I hope that many of your readers will be able to view my quilts anytime from March 3rd- June 3rd when they are at The Brooklyn Children’s Museum.

    All the best and thank you once again. By the way I also enjoy seeing many of your excellent recipes.

    Muriel Feldshuh

  3. Melissa! Your collage and artwork is so awesome! If you hadn’t explained the details about how you created that picture, I would have never thought that the snow was a paper towel or about the cotton either. It looks like you drew it! I will need to attempt a collage project with Bebe E. I try to do different projects to entertain her at home and she’s really taken a liking to crafts and art. Congrats on the quilt and hope you had fun at the reading/demo today! Happy Hinamatsuri Day!

  4. I just bought Good Night Engines for a friend’s baby shower. She had the brilliant idea of asking for signed books instead of cards. Why didn’t I think of that 10 years ago???

Leave a Reply

