Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breast Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Olives and Award

I wish I could be an organized person.  You the know the type:  Someone who has a closet that looks like this.  Someone who never makes scheduling mistakes.  Someone who can juggle the seven different ongoing projects life hands her.
I have so many photos of dishes to post, half written recipes here and there.  To be honest, sometimes I forget about them. Or worse, they pile up on the computer, mocking me, and I begin to have stress dreams about forgetting to turn in all the assignments during the semester and I have to get everything in to pass the class!

I’m going to attempt to partially rectify the situation by sharing a (really good!) recipe I’ve been meaning to post for months:  Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breast Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Olives

Not the most photogenic dish, but very delicious!

The truth is, I entered this recipe in a contest for olives awhile ago.  I heard the winning recipe was an olive couscous, but I can’t find it anywhere!

The goat cheese stuffing in my recipe is good by itself as a dip– it would be easy to use as part of an appetizer too.  It’s creamy, lemony, and salty and briny from the olives.  I thought pistachios would work well with the flavors, so I coated the chicken with it.  The cream sauce pulls it together.  It’s also good as a leftover — in a sandwich! (Recipe at end of post).

Another post that is long overdue is acknowledging that I received the Versatile Blogger Award from Jereme@jeremeskitchen.com, Sharyn@thekalechronicals.com, and most recently Choc Chip Uru@gobakeyourself.wordpress.com.

Jereme throws amazing parties, and has so many great appetizer and dessert recipes on her site.  I was so amazed to learn that she just celebrated her one year blogiversary.  I had thought she had been blogging for much longer.   Sharyn, is a wonderful artist and cook, that somehow finds time to create beautiful gouache paintings of what she cooks almost every day!  Choc Chip Uru is a teenager and consummate baker and writer whom I’m endlessly awed and inspired by.  Her posts make me drool and laugh at the same time.  Please visit their blogs!  Thank you, ladies, for bestowing the award to me!  Please forgive me for the delay.  I procrastinated forever because I can’t take the pressure of coming up with seven “interesting” and “enlightening” things about myself that I can post.  I’m just going to skip this part…  (blush.)

The great part of receiving the award is that I get to introduce readers to fifteen other blogs that I’ve just discovered and share the love.

I’ll pass on the award to these bloggers:

Thanks for all the great posts and inspiration!


Here is my stuffed chicken recipe:

Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Olives

Stuffed Chicken:
¼ cup olive oil, divided
1 6 oz. can of California Black Olives, finely diced
6 oz. goat cheese, at room temperature
zest of one small lemon (about ¼ teaspoon)
1 cup golden raisins
6 4 oz. skinless, boneless chicken breasts
kosher salt and pepper
2 eggs
2 cups raw shelled pistachios, finely chopped or processed in food processor
Cream Sauce:
1 large shallot, finely diced
2 cups chicken broth
¼ cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon butter
      1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Brush a 9×13 inch baking dish with olive oil.
  1. Mix olives into goat cheese until well incorporated.  Add in zest and golden raisins.  Set aside.
  2. Cut chicken breasts in half lengthwise and pound to an even ¼-inch thickness.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Spread goat cheese mixture on each breast piece.   Roll up and secure with a toothpick.  Dredge each roll in egg and coat with pistachio nuts. Set aside. Reserve any leftover pistachio bits.
  4. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in skillet over medium heat.  In batches, lightly brown each chicken breast roll on all sides until pistachios are golden.  Do not crowd pan.  Add oil as needed.  Remove pan from heat and transfer chicken to prepared baking dish.  Bake chicken in oven for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Remove cooked pistachio bits to a dish and reserve.  Do not wash skillet.
  5. While chicken is baking, make cream sauce.  Heat 1 tablespoon oil in used skillet.  Saute shallot in oil until softened.  Add reserved pistachio bits from dredging.  Saute until golden.  Then add reserved cooked pistachio bits.  Add chicken broth, bring to a boil and cook, stirring until sauce is reduced by half.  Add cream.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Simmer for 2 minutes.  Add butter, stir to incorporate and remove from heat.  When chicken is done, remove toothpicks and serve with sauce.
Makes 6 servings
18 Comments

Filed under chicken, Dinner

18 responses to “Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breast Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Olives and Award

  1. Thank you so much! 🙂
    And oh, that pistachio crusted chicken sounds amazing. I have such a pistachio weakness, and then you throw in goat cheese – this goes on my to make list!

  2. OH GOOD LORD…this looks SOOOO delicious!!! HAVE TO TRY IT…and thanks for other cooking blogs too M…tho I hardly have time to cook much less read them…but so tempting! 🙂 lovely

  3. oh and I have those same stress dreams…it’s always the morning of the painting class final turn in….15 paintings and I have none….and I’m trying to find a way to paint 15 paintings in an hour. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    • Lol! I guess it’s not that uncommon… Mine is usually a science or math class though. Sometimes I’m supposed to be in a performance and I haven’t memorized my lines yet, and I have about 15 minutes to do it.

  4. This sounds good, Melissa. I like the combination of raisins, pistachios, lemon zest and cheese. Thanks for the link to The Kale Chronicles where, coincidentally, I just posted my Mom’s standard chicken marinade. The spring chickens must be out in full force. I look forward to checking out some of the blogs on your list.

  5. That sounds so good!! I want to check out all those blogs… when will I ever find the time?! 🙂

  6. Dear Melissa, thank you so much for the award! I am very happy about it!!!-))

  7. Congrats on the award! The chicken looks delicious and moist. Very tempting post.

  8. Thank you so much for the award, Melissa! I truly appreciate it! 🙂

    Oh boy tell me about having a hard time juggling everything that life puts on your plate! While I’m not organized (at ALL) myself, I don’t think even that would help me right now. Sometimes it is just work and uni and simply LIFE! All we can do is just hang in there and do our best, right? 🙂

    Strange you say the chicken isn’t quite the most photogenic recipe: I think it looks beautiful. I’m always ALL IN for pistachios!

    And the stuffed bread is right up me alley, too! You almost could have posted it as a recipe on its own. 😉 It looks like something I’d buy from a greek street vendor and enjoy outside in summer for dinner! What a versatile dip/stuffing!

    Cheers,
    Tobias

  9. Peter Tolan

    Oy vey! That looks so great, Melissa. You actually make me want to cook, which is saying a lot! Best to all at home in BH.

  10. magicofspice

    What a great recipe…such a wonderful melding of flavors, my family would really enjoy this!
    And congratulations on your awards! Thank you so much for including me, truly honored 🙂

  11. Hi! I started to leave a comment the other day but then got distracted by the “baby”… Looks like I never hit “send”. 🙂 Congrats on the award! Well-deserved. Sorry to hear you didn’t win, but the dish looks amazing! Want to try the olive cheese stuffing as a dip! Sounds so delish. My hubs loves olives but hates goat cheese. I loooove goat cheese! About your archive of posts never posted – I am RIGHT there with ya! I have tons of posts and photos that I’ve taken but can barely post once a week (and I don’t even have deadlines – don’t know how you do it!) Lately I’ve been looking at my old pictures of food never posted and I don’t like them! Trying to figure out how I can take better photos and not rush to take them before I feed my family (and while I’m starving). LOL. Have a great weekend!

    • I know – it’s hard to get it all in — are you sure the photos are not usable? Usually we’re our own harshest critics!
      J is sick this week — hoping he’ll recover by Monday. On antibiotics now. Glad we have no plans this weekend!

Leave a Reply

