Abuelita Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream


While travelling in Mexico during my college years,  I always enjoyed having Mexican hot chocolate at breakfast.  It’s tastier than its American counterpart and has subtle notes of cinnamon.  Then, many years later after moving to NYC, I discovered that the little bodega on our corner had the Abuelita chocolate disks, so I happily started making Mexican hot chocolate at home.

Nowadays, you can find these disks (the other common brand is Ibarra) in the international foods section of large grocery stores.

In fact, my sister-in-law in Gurnee, IL who didn’t know we could get it here sent us about 10 boxes after we commented how much we loved it while visiting during Thanksgiving!

So good on a cold day…

Since it’s been so hot these days, we’ve been enjoying lots of yummy home made cold treats like smoothies, soft serve “ice cream”, and rocket pops.  Hot chocolate hasn’t made the cut!  I decided to make ice cream instead because I had some heavy cream I needed to use up (I mixed it with milk to make half and half).

This recipe is based on one in Gourmet magazine (Feb. 2003).  It’s an egg based ice cream, but since it requires whole eggs, instead of just the yolks,  it’s not as heavy as your usual custard based ice creams.  It’s closer to a gelato.  The flavor is wonderful too.

Abuelita Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream

3 3/4 cups half and half

3  1/2 disks Abuelita (or Ibarra) chocolate, coarsely chopped

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of salt

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1.  Heat half and half, chocolate, and cinnamon in a large saucepan over moderate heat.  Whisk until chocolate dissolves.  Bring to a boil; remove from heat.

2.  Whisk eggs with a pinch of salt in a large heat proof bowl.  Add a few cups of  the hot chocolate* slowly* to the egg mixture while whisking.  Add the rest of the chocolate and continue to whisk.  Add vanilla. Stir to incorporate.

3.  Transfer to a clean saucepan and heat over low to moderate heat for about 5 minutes, or until mixture is 175 (F) degrees.  It will thicken and coat the spoon.

4.  Immediately strain into a large bowl set over another larger bowl of ice water.  Don’t skip this step!

5.  Chill mixture until cool and then churn  according to ice cream maker instructions. (The original recipe calls for churning right after, but I find that the heat impedes the ice cream making process which results in “soupy” ice cream.)

Makes about 4 cups.

190 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

190 responses to “Abuelita Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. I so want to make this, Melissa. I love the flavor of Mexican chocolate.

  2. Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream sounds absolutely divine! I love that you put the flavors in ice cream form!

  3. This sounds soooooooooo good! Must look for those Mexican chocolate discs :).

  4. Um yum much? I love Mexican chocolate flavours, this looks crazy gorgeous 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Love it! I am desperately craving chocolate today, too. LOL. I have been earnestly trying to make space in our freezer for my ice cream maker. I’ve been attempting to clean it out for the past 1.5 months now. Yikes. 🙂 Will I ever get around to ice cream making? If so, I would definitely enjoy this! Hope you guys are having a great summer!

  6. I’m going to search this chocolate. I’ll hunt down and make this chocolate ice cream (I made one recently but I’m always up for new one!).

  7. I’ve been writing a post about a song called “Abuelita” and haven’t been sure whether it fits my blog. Your ice cream has inspired me. It looks delicious!

  8. Reblogged this on claratheginger and commented:
    yum! who can say no to this?

  9. Looks delicious….I always remeber when we lived in Bologna, Italy and the hot chocolates there were just a cup of melted chocolate mixed with hot milk and topped with real fresh whipped cream and then sprinkled with cinnamon…..indulgent isn´t the word… 🙂 🙂

  10. This looks so yummy, I’ve discovered that the chocolate is available in the UK but can I ask a question? What is half and half?

  11. fromthericefields

    sounds great but I thought raw egg was no good for you?

  12. Nora

    Sound like quite the treat.

  13. What a great idea for an ice cream flavor. The Popsicle guy in our neighborhood makes Mexican chocolate Popsicles and those are my favorites, so I know I would love this ice cream!

  14. This looks so yummy! I’ve always liked gummy bears on my chocolate ice cream. I wonder if they would be any different on Mexican chocolate ice cream. I guess I’m going to have to test it out. 😀 YAY!

  15. Looks delicious. And it’s a rare flavor. Thanks for inspiring!

  16. This looks wonderful! I think I will see if I can whip this recipe up! Thanks!

  17. this looks delish and easy to make too! We have a locally made chocolate bar too in my hometown, we call it tablea, and it’s way better than the supermarket ones! 🙂

  18. blackberriesandbloodoranges

    this looks so great–

  19. i wish i still had my churn!

  20. Cinnamon and chocolate together — how can that be anything but phenomenal? 😉

  21. Seriously looks AMAZING.

  22. Mmm! That sounds so good right now! I’m definitely going to have to try out that recipe.

  23. Had this all the time…but never in ice-cream! Definitely giving this a try today. Thank you!

  24. no pos wow! i LOVE abuelita its the BEST….ICE CREAM ! ! ! awesome my wife and i are trying this.

  25. This post is especially fitting since July is National Ice Cream Month. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  26. I have a friend from Germany and she hates American chocolate. I would love to try this yummy recipe. Chocolate is my favorite! Thanks for sharing.

  27. sweetpea2200

    I cannot wait to make this, thank you, for sharing

  28. Yummy!!
    I wrote in my blog about chocolate cupcakes!

    I recently started!

    Hope you see it!

    Bye

  29. Sounds delicious – I love ice cream! 🙂

  30. desifriend17

    Sounds so good and easy to make. Will have to make

  31. Oh, this sounds so good! I wish I could enjoy ice cream, but I am too much lactose intolerant. But, I do love Mexican chocolate! Thanks for the recipe!

    • I am lactose intolerant too. 😦 But it’s not that bad, because I can take heavy cream. So when I use milk, I use Lactaid. Or almond milk. Also, I’ve found that lactose pills work — you can take it when you eat ice cream!

  32. As a teenager, this is paradise. Thanks!

  33. This sounds so good….have you ever tried chocolate with chilis in it? It’s certainly an experience, sweet first and then the fire hits the back of your sinuses as you swallow it. Interesting combination….

  34. I Love Chocolate Ice Cream

  35. Looks absolutely delicious! Another combination that might work well is dark choc ice cream with a bit of chili.

  36. Reblogged this on Write a blog on a log, Sam I am and commented:
    Can someone make this for me?

  37. An Ng.

    Looks delicious! I actually don’t love chocolate by itself, but when it has other flavoring components like spices or coffee, I really like it. This looks perfect to try out this weekend, thanks for the recipe!

  38. THis makes me sooo hungry!

  39. Coffee and ice-cream, what else is there. A great combo.

  40. Love this post. Can’t wait to look at the rest of you blog. 🙂

  41. Looks delicious! I love mexican chocolate and your photos are beautiful!

  42. looks super yummy and I’m not even that much of an ice-cream fan!! 😀

  43. nazarioartpainting

    Look delicious!. Mmh! I am a chocolate lover, when I visit Mexico again I have to try Abuelita Chocolate. Thank You for sharing

  44. Nice blog. I’ll never forget the time I baked Mexican chocolate cake for a holiday and I thought it was way too spicy, hot, but some of my family loved it!

  45. Yum! I love the idea of having the flavors of mexican hot chocolate in ice cream. I need to try it!

    http://wadswords.wordpress.com/

  46. Not much in this world better than chocolate ice cream on a hot day. Yours looks amazing.

  47. looks sooo good) i need to avoid temptation)

  48. the picture makes my mouth water… I’m in Mexico, the title called out to me… you’re “fresly pressed” today (Congrats’ by the way!)… all concurred = it’s a sign, I should make some Abuelita Mexican chocolate ice-cream!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Jul’

  49. Life & Sunshine

    this post is giving me a serious craving!! looks so good 🙂

  50. Triple Thumbs Up!! Chocolate Abuelita!!!! Yeah!!

  51. cathynd95

    Oh yeah, I wk going to be making this! And reblogging it too, so I can fins it easily this weekend! Thanks for posting! Oh, and I love the.recipe.that used.the whole egg. I hate throwing the whites out.

  52. Reblogged this on What's For Dinner? and commented:
    Oh yes, I am going to have to make this come the weekend!!! Love chocolate ice cream!

  53. This conjured up memories of the years I spent in the Rio Grande Valley, on the border of Reynosa and Matamoros. The spicy foods, even chocolate, act as a coolant in this hot and humid climate, triggering perspiration which evaporates and cools you off…if you can catch a breeze even better! Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  54. Joe Labriola

    Ah, just one day after I swore off ice cream…

  55. OMGodddddd.. SUPER Chocolatezzzz. Follow my blog dear 🙂

  56. Reblogged this on Rebel Wife's Blog and commented:
    Chocolate!! Ice cream!! The perfect marriage. Plus, it’s got cinnamon, which is a wonderful complement to chocolate. Have to try this one!

  57. This looks and sounds delicious, especially with the addition of cinnamon! Thanks for sharing. I just had to reblog!

  58. I’m looking for it mañana! Muchas Gracias!

  59. Gorgeous! I have to make some.

  60. Beautifully done and explained. Certainly many miles ahead of the last group of “Freshly Pressed,” especially the one in how to paint a perfectly gold purchased frame to green, then to white. The regular reviewer with WordPress must have been on vacation on that one.

  61. Reblogged this on Misfit Mama At Home and commented:
    I’m gonna make this but with Ibarra (I like it better than Abuelita).

  62. Yum, i put abuelita in my coffee every morning!

  63. just looking at this makes me happy! 🙂

  64. I love it!!!!!!! Anything with Mexican chocolate!

  65. This looks so tempting! Yums! Where I am I’ll never get my hands on these 😦

  66. Sounds like the perfect recipe for the first chocolate treat made in my new ice cream freezer! Can’t wait to try it.

  67. simple sustenance

    Looks delicious! Will definitely give it a try.

  68. samokan

    Looks so good.. No idea whats a half and half though 🙂

  69. Sounds delicious! I wonder if I could find any mexican chocolate over here (Australia). Probably not 😦

  70. Pingback: A Semana em Frames #8 « Feed by Frames

  71. That looks heavenly! I wish I had an icecream maker, but then again, it means I would have to find a way to work-out doubletime! Cheers to you 🙂

  72. Yum! I’ve never seen that chocolate before, but now I’ll have to start looking. Thanks for the introduction! 😀

  73. My family loves Mexican hot chocolate. Thanks for a great idea!

  74. mmm I have intense cravings for mexican hot chocolate on a fairly regular basis…and also for ice cream…this solves both! thanks!

  75. There’s ice cream shops in Austin that sell “Mexican Hot Chocolate” ice cream and Mexican Vanilla. You’ve just about sold me on an ice cream maker! For now we make popsicles, but I suppose this mixture could be used to make fudgsicles?

  76. I’m a little nervous about getting lumps of cooked egg in with it, but I might have to give this a try. Do you HAVE to add the half and half/chocolate combination into the egg while it’s still hot, or can you let it cool off?

    • If you add it in a slow stream a little at a time while whisking, you will temper the egg mixture. You keep adding the hot chocolate this way. Then the egg will not curdle. If you are worried, yes, it would be fine to cool it a little, but you don’t want it to be too cool! You actually want to cook the egg, so it’s not raw. This way gently cooks it. Also, when you strain it after cooking, it ensures there are no lumps present (like the chalazae (not sure of spelling) –the thick white membrane part of the white).

  77. now you made me hungry….so bad for my diet

  78. This ice cream sounds amazing! I love mexican chocolate, something about the addition of the cinnamon makes it extra special :)!

  79. i love mixing mexican chocolate with coffee…ice cream sounds even better!

  80. This looks amazing! I’ve never made my own ice-cream, but I’m really tempted to try after seeing this chocolate wonderland here!

  81. Reblogged this on Johnolarnic's Blog and commented:
    That sounds great. I love the abuelita chocolate.

  82. maryamkh97

    I made it and it was extremely delicious….

  83. thank you, hungry artist! This is very special! thanks for sharing. food and art are also my passion…though i am more of an art person. congrats for being on the freshly pressed. i will follow your blog from now, to learn..

    .http://denisefoodblog.wordpress.com/

  84. katececilem

    I will have to try this. The ice cream looks delicious

  85. I really want some, mainly because I am an ice cream addict!

  86. wow that looks amazing! What exactly is half and half?

  87. thefrancofly

    Just what summertime ordered! Too bad it’s been nothing but rainstorms here. Greetings from Paris!

    Jessie

  88. OMG! The Ice Cream looks so slurpily delicious! 😀 I so want all of them ^_^

  89. I adore hot chocolate, but for some reason I don’t like chocolate ice cream-))) My taste is changing all the time, maybe if I will try this one I would fall in love with it-) Any way your ice cream looks amazing, thank you!

  90. i love abuelitas!!!! i’m going to have to make this someday … i always had it as hot chocolate (with a cinnamon stick).

  91. That looks absolutely amazing, I’ll be pinning it for sure. I make a lot of food and honestly had no idea how to make ice cream >_<

  92. this is frankly tongue watering.

  93. Your’re a genius. I have all the ingredients in stock, getting ready to make as we speak…

  94. seriously, when i started reading this, it made me hungry, and this chocolate icecream sounds soo good!! gotta make some ! xox

  95. Reblogged this on Levon's Obsessions and commented:
    Within hours of reading about the massive protesting in Mexico against the newly appointed pres, I saw this post on Abuelita Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream and had to repost. That and it looks so so good. Appropriate for the season and climate – meteorologically and politically speaking, need-less-to-say this post caught my ‘fat girl in an average body’ foodie attention. So get your ice cream churn ready (they have them for as low as $59 at Bed Bath & Beyond) and enjoy.. Levon S.

  96. In the immortal words of Homer Simpson… “mmm-MMmmmm-mmMM…. chocolate.” I often sprinkle a little chili powder on my regular hot chocolate for an extra blast of flavor and heat. I’ll have to look for Abuelito. Gracias!

  97. Oh my God it’s Abuelita!!! Having grown up on this chocolate I feel almost empty without it here in Tokyo… and this recipe for ice cream? Absolutely creative and delicious looking!!!! A beautiful twist on a childhood classic = win! 😀

  98. Reblogged this on cellynseah and commented:
    Yummy!!!!!!!

  99. This will taste great mixed in with a Peruvian coffee. Thanks for the recipe!

  100. This looks so good!:) and why don’t you try freezing the hot chocolate to make ice lollies for the summer?

  101. Reblogged this on Bounce Back Journal and commented:
    A wonderful ice cream recipe using Mexican chocolate. I’ll have to try this. Happy Ice Cream Day!

  102. Thanks Gal Pal Carmen for the repost this recipe looks sooooooo decadent. I’m an ice cream bandit I’ll have to steal this and report the outcome. YUM!

  103. Congrats on getting freshly pressed! I was lucky enuf to be pressed only 6 months after I started my blog (which like you was Feb 2010!) and I met so many people and got such a nice boost of traffic.

    I really like your blog – glad to have found it. This recipe looks like something my family would love. Will look for the chocolate or something equivalent and give it a go!

  104. that looks so good but I my self have allergys would you consider making a wheat free egg free post? 🙂

    • Sure- I have on occasion!
      Here’s a good wheat free egg free frozen dessert:

      I don’t have many wheat free baked goods, but I know a lot of people use coconut flour in place of wheat flour, so you might want to try that!

  105. Congrats for being on Freshly Pressed. I love ice creams, but I have never made it at home.I will surely be trying this.Thanks for the recipe.

  106. And yet another reason why I need to invest in an ice cream maker.. this recipe looks divine!

  107. I think I’m in love. It’s 4am in the morning and I’m actually craving icecream!! Oh dear, God save my soul.

  108. Looks amazing! Ahhh if only I could find Mexican hot chocolate in Australia, life would be perfect.

  109. This looks amazing… I want it now 🙂

    xxx
    Nina
    http://trendsurvivor.com/

  110. Reblogged this on nicklocicero and commented:
    necessary

  111. Hi, thanks for stopping by my post. I love the look of that Mexican Hot Choc. Ice Cream. Mexican Hot Chocolate is my go to drink at our local coffee shop, The Filling Station. I’d make the ice cream, but, I’m afraid what it would do to my (already ample) middle. 🙂 Keep blogging! Cheers, Rita

  112. This is genius!! Will have to get my ice cream maker back from my neighbor for this one! Will make this before summer is out. Love the color of the ice cream

  113. I grew up drinking this divine chocolate but i haven’t seen it in ice cream form! its genius and i will try this recipe out!!

  114. Congratulations on making “Freshly Pressed”! I’m going to give this recipe a try soon. I’ve seen the Abuelita chocolate disks at my neighborhood market and have always wanted to try them. Thanks for sharing! (:

  115. Looking at this just made me soooo hungryyyyy!! 🙂

  116. Looks great… The drinks looks like turkish coffee… did you try it?

  117. fifa 13

    great post i love ice cream

  118. Your ice cream looks delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

  119. Whoa! I need those chocolate disks and I need that icecream. I agree, Mexican hot chocolate is *ze best*!!!!!!!

  120. I have always wanted to try this. I see the “bars” all the time in the store but never “dared” do buy and try. WIll do that now.
    Thank you for the tip.
    Gisela

  121. I love your blog. Signed up to follow you.
    Gisela

  122. I wanna go to Mexico now. Or just stuff that bark of chocolate down my throat. Either will do.

  123. Also, I have never heard of this chocolate or of such a simple way to make icecream. Thank you very very much.

  124. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmy!!!! i can’t stop drooling after seeing this.

  125. Thanks so much for sharing!

  126. jjotter

    Gosh I have been meaning to buy an ice cream maker and this makes me want to do it today! The only thing I do with Abuelita is use it for mole. Looks delicious!

  127. Pingback: Some like it hot: Heat brings customers to some businesses (Sun-Times Media) « Em Miller writes…

  128. Reblogged this on Brent A Robinson and commented:
    Yum!

  129. LOVE this recipe! (and who doesn’t love ice cream?)
    You and your readers might also like the No-Fry Mexican Ice Cream from our Mission Eat Interesting sweeps. Bloggers sent in some new twists on Mexican classics including ice cream, other desserts, and lots more. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/MissionEnterToWin

  130. This looks fabulous- must try at home. I met you a few years ago at a NJ Book Fair. I love your books and now your blog! I hope I can do this ice cream justice.

  131. Pingback: Abuelita Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream | 2m2t

  132. syd

    have someof this ice cream w/ some freshly made churros! 😋

  133. Acai

    Can’t wait to try this one! Love abuelita

  134. I love mexican food, I was looking for something special, this abuelita looks amazing, love it ☺☺☺

  135. Today is National Ice Cream Day, and I remembered that this was the first post of yours I ever read. It must have been Freshly Pressed? Anyway, it’s the ice cream I’m making to celebrate the “holiday” today 😄

    Thanks for all your delicious recipes and glimpses into your life as an artist. I am so glad I found your blog and followed it!

Leave a Reply

