Green as a Coconut, Spinach, Chocolate Smoothie

Topped with toasted coconut and sliced almonds

Topped with toasted coconut and sliced almonds


So this is only day 2 of my weaning myself off of caffeine, and I feel like this:

Copyright Melissa Iwai 2005

Copyright Melissa Iwai 2005

All I want to do is sleep.  Which probably means I am sleep deprived.  Which is why I decided to stop drinking coffee in the first place.  I have been struggling with insomnia and stress, and hopefully this will help with that.  Unfortunately, I have a lot of work to do, and my daily coffee seemed to help make me so much more productive!  Have any of you dealt with this issue?  Any advice or tips you can give?

In the meantime, I’m still trying to keep a healthy lifestyle.  I’m still drinking my smoothies.  Jamie too.  Remember this one?  It’s his favorite Chocolate Banana Smoothie (with Secret Ingredient).

These days, I drink one daily and it’s a riff on Jamie’s Chocolate Banana Smoothie and my Strawberry Bliss Smoothie.

Strawberry Banana High Fiber Smoothie

Strawberry Banana High Fiber Smoothie

It has the frozen fruit, spinach (whoops! there goes the secret!), and pysllium husk that those have, but I’ve also added protein powder and coconut milk as well.  I often try to make it as thick as possible so I can eat it with a spoon.  I top it with a little toasted coconut and almonds, and it makes me feel like I’m eating a soft serve ice cream for breakfast.  This is especially nice in these hot summer months!

I toast unsweetened coconut and sliced almonds on foil in the toaster oven.

I toast unsweetened coconut and sliced almonds on foil in the toaster oven.

I keep frozen banana, various fruits, frozen spinach in a bag, and frozen coconut milk in the freezer at all times.

One can of Trader Joe's Light Coconut Milk fills one ice cube tray. How convenient!

One can of Trader Joe’s Light Coconut Milk fills one ice cube tray. How convenient!

I freeze the coconut milk in an ice cube tray.  One cube equals 2 tablespoons, if you are curious.  When it hardens, I transfer the cubes to a ziploc freezer bag and store for future use –i.e. almost every morning.

This is what I put in the blender:

ingredients

The fruit I used this time was nectarine, but that varies.

Frozen Coconut Milk, Banana, Nectarine, and Spinach

Frozen Coconut Milk, Banana, Nectarine, and Spinach–pretty!

I know it looks green and icky, but it is SOOO good!

I know it looks green and icky, but it is SOOO good!

Here's a more Martha Stewart photo for ya!

Here’s a more Martha Stewart photo for ya!

Coconut, Spinach, Chocolate Protein Smoothie

2-3 ice cubes

1/4 frozen banana (I slice them and freeze, so this is about 4 slices)

1 cube of frozen coconut milk (or 2 tablespoons)

a handful of other frozen fruit — I use nectarines and strawberries often

1 teaspoon psyllium husk (if you want more fiber — also it acts as a thickening agent.  You could also use Chia Seeds)

a little less than 1/4 cup milk (or almond milk if you want to keep it vegan), depending on how liquid you want the final to be

teaspoon of toasted coconut and almond for garnish (optional)

1.  Crush ice cubes in blender.

2.  Pour in remaining ingredients and blend. If you make it thick, like mine, you need a tamper to press everything down — I use a Vitamix.  If you don’t have a tamper, I would just keep stirring it every now and then by hand to remove clumps, and blend again.

3.  Pour into a wide rimmed glass or bowl and top with crunchy toasted coconut and almond topping if you desire!

19 Comments

Filed under Beverages, Breakfast, Vegetarian

19 responses to “Green as a Coconut, Spinach, Chocolate Smoothie

  1. That seriously looks good.

  2. Reblogged this on Foodie Fox and commented:
    For those who are trying to stay away from caffeine πŸ™‚

  3. That’s so creative,healthy and delicious!!

  4. This is one of the most exciting smoothies I’ve seen! It looks so good! My go-to smoothie is this one: http://dailyinakitchen.com/2013/05/24/morning-glory/ but I’ll definitely spice my smoothies up and make one of yours πŸ™‚

  5. Congratulations!!!

    I think you are a fantastic blogger, therefore, I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award Nomination.

    Please visit my blog where you will see your nomination – Hooray, Congratulations and Celebrations!!! http://laurieslovelyliving.com/2013/08/01/versatile-bloggers-nominations/

    There are five rules you will need to follow. You will find these rules in Part I of my versatile blogger post at http://laurieslovelyliving.com/2013/07/27/i-am-a-versatile-blogger-or-so-ive-been-told/

    If you have already have this award then take this as a sign your blog rocks. If you don’t already have this award then take this as a sign your blog rocks. Either way, YOU rock!!

    Keep up the fantastic work!!

    Love, Laurie

    http://www.LauriesLovelyLiving.com

  6. Interesting. I freeze bananas and lots of other fruit, but I’ve never thought of freezing coconut water. Thank you for the tip!

  7. It’s actually light coconut milk, but I bet coconut water would be yummy too! πŸ™‚

  8. I will try freezing coconut milk–thanks for the clever idea! I do a shake every weekday morning to start off my day healthy. I use frozen berries and when I add coconut oil it hardens so I end up with a crunchy treat. I also had a nut butter, a touch of flax, cacao & cinnamon and a little of a fresh fruit in season. It keep me happy until lunch time. I hope your getting more sleep–take a look at your bedroom space and make sure it’s retreat-like and not work-like. Happy Nesting!

  9. OOh, I love the coconut oil idea — we’ve made Magic shell with it before. Do you just drizzle it on plain? Yum!

  10. good luck weaning yourself off of caffeine! i cut out my diet soda a couple of months ago (more out of necessity than anything else – $$$) and switched to water with lemon/lime. i got weird headaches at first, but thankfully those went away.

    i like the touch of the toasted coconut and almond on top. it adds a nice texture to it!

  11. Reblogged this on Soul Kandy and commented:
    Love this recipe

  12. Pingback: Microwave Pumpkin Breakfast Cake | The Hungry Artist

  13. Pingback: Coconut Chocolate Chia Pudding and Almond Chia Pudding | The Hungry Artist

  14. Pingback: Green Recipe Fail and Success: Perfect Green Coconut Chocolate Protein Ice Cream | The Hungry Artist

  15. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Avocado Ice Cream | The Hungry Artist

  16. Pingback: Chocolate Frozen Banana and Blueberry Bites | The Hungry Artist

Leave a Reply

