Best Fire Roasted Tomato Salsa Ever and Baked Tortilla Chips

chip in salsa

I have made this salsa exactly four times since I saw this recipe from What’s  Gaby Cooking a month ago!  I made it a bit easier for myself by omitting the cherry tomatoes and reducing the amounts of garlic, cilantro, chipotle, and lime juice.  In the past I have shied away from using chipotles, not because of the heat, but because it comes in a can full of them, and you only need one or two at the most!  I made  Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas for a party, and I still had extra chiles.  Luckily, I learned that they can be frozen for future use!  Brilliant!  The key thing is to line your ice cube tray with saran first, as I learned here.  The sauce stains and everything is really spicy!  I defrost and use a cube at a time (about one chile).

Doesn't it look like some strange fossil?

Doesn’t it look like some strange fossil or worse– preserved organ?!

Throw the ingredients in a food processor and pulse several times and there you have it — perfect salsa.  Use more chiles if you want it spicier.  The fire roasted tomatoes give it a really nice rich flavor.  I used a can from Trader Joes.

fire roasted tomatoes

Serve with bagged tortilla chips, or make your own!  I also put salsa on everything else:  Eggs, veggies — both raw and cooked…  I can literally eat it by itself, I love it so much!
baked tortilla chipsFire Roasted Tomato Salsa

1 14 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes

1 chipotle chile (or more if you want it spicier– one is pretty spicy though!)

1/2 medium onion chopped

1/4 cup cilantro with stems

1 clove of garlic, roughly chopped

1/2 lime, juiced

pinch of kosher salt to taste

1.  Put all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor and pulse about 10 times.

2.  Serve immediately with chips or store in the refrigerator for future use.

 

Baked Tortilla Chips

Corn tortillas

Non-stick spray

kosher salt

 

1.  Preheat oven to 4oo degrees F.

2.  Line two baking sheets with foil and spray with non-stick spray and set aside

3.  Stack up to four tortillas at a time and cut into 8 to 10 triangles (I like 10 for thinner chips)

4.  Lay in one layer on prepared baking sheet.  Spray with non-stick spray and sprinkle with salt.

5.  Bake for about 5 minutes, then watch closely and bake 1-3 minutes more until tan around the edges.  Transfer to a plate to cool and crisp up.

6. Repeat with remaining triangles until used up.

7.  Serve immediately.  Can be stored in an airtight container for several days.  If they lose a bit of crunch due to humidity, toast in the toaster oven for a couple of minutes before serving.

 

20 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Snack

20 responses to “Best Fire Roasted Tomato Salsa Ever and Baked Tortilla Chips

  1. I love homemade salsa–I can’t eat a store bought one anymore. We just harvested tomatillos from our garden–can’t wait to make it into salsa. Great tip about freezing leftover chillies! Happy chowing!

  2. I am a fan of fresh home made salsa. This sounds so easy and delish. Will make this soon.

  3. Looks great and sounds really easy. I must try this as I usually dry roast all my ingredients but frankly, with a two year-old, who has the time?

  4. What a healthier version of chips and dips, it looks delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Reblogged this on Momma Mia Moments and commented:
    Looks delicious and I want to make this!

  6. Thanks for the recipe. This looks great. I love the taste of chipotle, and freezing them is convenient…if you don’t make 5 different things with them in a week ;). I’ll have to get around to trying all the other chiles you can get, but I’m always pulled in by the chipotles.

  7. This is wonderful! Great tip for the chipotles!

  8. I have been thinking about giving a try to homemade salsa sauce and tortilla chips. Both “dish” are not part of the French cooking culture, so weirdly enough I have always thought that making both of them would be somehow difficult. But when reading your post it really doesn’t seem so! Think I will give a try soon enough 😉

  9. Mmm that salsa must be great!
    lol, do you use kosher salt on the pork carnitas???
    ♥♥♥;^)

  10. Jayme & Jessica

    I lovvvveee spicy! This salsa looks great!

  11. Thanks for sharing! The salsa looks so refreshing, and is something I’d like to eat during this Indian summer we have going on here in California! I have to try baking tortilla chips!

  12. allskyedout

    Salsa goes great in an omelette.

    Dana Guidera

  13. Yum, I need to try this!

Leave a Reply

