Low Carb Cauliflower Crust Bacon Zucchini Quiche

quiche side 1

I procrastinated today and instead of doing my work, I did some experimenting and cooking in the kitchen!  We had a frozen pie crust I needed to use (it kept threatening to fall out of the freezer in an annoying way), so I decided to make a quiche.  I try to keep my processed foods on the low side (with the occasional lapse of salty snacks that sometimes make their way in our house…).  So I made one quiche with the Pilsbury pie crust and one quiche for myself with cauliflower crust (my husband and son hate cauliflower, so that’s why there was no sharing).

I based the filling on this Cooking Light recipe.  I doubled it because I was making two quiches.  The recipe below is for one quiche.  I used onion instead of shallot since that’s what we had. I lessened the oil to 1/2 tablespoon, used only half of the zucchini, and added parmesan cheese.  The results were yummy!  This quiche is also gluten free. 🙂

quiche top

Low Carb Cauliflower Crust Bacon Zucchini Quiche

For crust:

Non-stick spray

1/2 head cauliflower, about 18 oz., chopped

6 tablespoons liquid egg whites (or 2 whites)

salt and pepper

1/4 cup almond meal

For filling:

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 small zucchini, sliced (about 2 cups)

1 teaspoon dried thyme

salt and pepper to taste

3 eggs

9 tablespoons liquid egg whites (or 3 whites)

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

2 slices cooked bacon, crumbled

1 1/2 oz. shredded part skim mozzarella (about 1/4 cup)

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray pie pan with non-stick spray.  Set aside

2.  Finely process cauliflower in food processor.  Transfer to a bowl, cover with saran, and steam in microwave for 4 minutes.

3.  Mix cooked cauliflower, 6 tablespoons egg whites, salt and pepper, and almond meal together in the bowl.  Pour into the pie pan and shape crust with a spoon, pushing sides up the edges.

4.  Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and turn heat down to 350 degrees.

5.  Meanwhile, heat oil in a skillet, add onion, zucchini, thyme, salt, and pepper and saute on medium heat for about 5 minutes until softened.  Let cool a bit.

6.  Beat eggs, egg whites, milk, parmesan cheese, and bacon together in a bowl.  Set aside.

7.  Spoon cooked onion and zucchini mixture into cauliflower crust and spread evenly.  Sprinkle with shredded mozzarella.

Then pour egg/bacon mixture on top.

8.  Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour until center is set.

Serves 8.

25 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Eggs, Gluten Free

25 responses to “Low Carb Cauliflower Crust Bacon Zucchini Quiche

  1. Everything about this seems amazing.

  2. Looks delicious and hearty! I also had to revive some filo dough yesterday that went dry. It was light, not bad and not wasteful!

  3. The crust on this quiche is excellent! Such cheesy goodness 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. I’ve come across cauliflower pizza bases but not quiche crusts. I’ve never been tempted because i just can’t imagine they compete with their originals. Should i be reconsidering?

  5. This looks so good! I’ve seen cauliflower crusts for pizzas before but they always seemed to have so much cheese in them. Yours looks so great with the almond meal instead and it saves room for extra cheese in the filling 😉 I’ll have to give it a go soon.

    • Well, you don’t have that rich buttery crust feel or taste! lol It is soft, but delicious. It’s kind of like a Shepard’s pie feel. I love the flavor and it’s very comforting. I never liked the outer edges of regular pie crust anyway, because it is so dry. This crust is much more moist. The very top that has the cheese is a bit crispy. The filling is kind of like flan. If you try it, maybe do 1/2 a recipe and bake in a smaller pan to see how you like it! 🙂

  6. Emma

    Ooh that sounds good. I would never have thought to put cauliflower in a quiche, but I love broccoli in quiches so I’m inspired to try this. Yum!

  7. Love this Cauliflower crust Quiche recipe. I will have to try as I know so many people who have gluten/wheat issues.

  8. That is a very interesting crust! I’ve never thought of that, of course, I am lucky to not have to worry about gluten-related issues.

  9. This recipe has everything amazing! So much flavor, thanks for posting this deliciousness 🙂

  10. I make cauliflower tortillas… But quiche?!! It’s amazing!! Sure to try this!!

  11. lakalifestyle

    looks very nice, we’re always looking for low carb recipes to try, wouldn’t ever of thought to put cauliflower in a quiche.

  12. This looks delicious!!! Thanks for sharing…it may be breakfast soon enough 🙂

  13. WestFourteen

    Perfect recipe for cutting on calories and not on taste!!
    WestFourteen

    http://www.westfourteen.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

