National Soup Month

January is National Soup Month! It’s gotten colder here, so soup is the perfect go to meal for us. I love soup so much I wrote a book about it.

The recipe is at the end of the story.

It is featured on Library Sparks’ activity calendar for January which you can download for free here. (Did you know it’s also Happy Get Organized Month and Happy Brainteaser Month? I bet you didn’t!)

Soup Day was inspired by my son, Jamie. I created Snowy Day Soup (the recipe of which is at the end of the story) to get him to eat his veggies when he was a toddler. We’d choose the vegetables together at the market, and I’d let himย cutย the soft onesย like the mushrooms, with a plastic knife (with my help).

Here is an old video of us making it together!

Back in 2010!

Back in 2010!

And here is a video of it being read on Story Time Castle. ๐Ÿ™‚

Another favorite soup of hisย is Zucchini Soup, and we have it regularly. It is so easy to make, even he can do it by himself! I illustrated a version of it which I submitted to They Draw and Cook. Here’s the art and the recipe:

Zucchini Soup Melissa Iwai 2016 72

Zucchini Soup

1 lb. zucchini sliced

1 cup chicken broth or other broth

salt and pepper to taste

  1. Slice zucchini into rounds. Steam. You can either steam on the stove or in the microwave, covered with saran for 8 minutes.
  2. Careful transfer the cooked zucchini and juices into a blender. Add chicken broth and seasonings. Pulse several times on low, and then blend at high until completely smooth.
  3. Heat and serve.

Happy Slurping! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 Comments

Filed under Books, Children, Soup, Soup, Uncategorized, Vegetables

12 responses to “National Soup Month

  1. January is the perfect month for soup… wet, snowy, icy. Brrr! Soup definitely chases the chill away!

  2. Very sweet! I’m eating a soup a night this month. I have lots of stock on hand and just sautee and blend for the evening…I wish everyone was on board this cleanse in my nest. Happy slurping to you too!

  3. Meredith

    I never connected your blog with the book. I recently bought that book for my daughter through the Scholastic Reading Club flyers. We have yet to make the soup yet, but I’m looking forward to the experience!

    • I”m so sorry I didn’t see this until now! I never got a notification! Thank you so much about the book! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you like the soup if you do try it! I”m working on the sequel now about Pizza. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Congrats on the book, and what a nice review!

  5. oh my gosh, all I have been eating for three months straight has been progresso tomato basil soup! I love soup and certain winter vegetables this time of year like brussels sprouts.

    I LOVED watching this interview!! I always love watching videos of you ๐Ÿ™‚ . Jamie is so cute…I STILL eat his Reese’s yogurt recipe…

Leave a Reply

