Zucchini Pseudo Crepe

zucchini crepe up close

There were so many times I wanted to write a post in the last few weeks — about my experience at Surtex, my mom’s visit and our subsequent travels to Maryland to honor the life of her long time partner, Tom… Book Expo America, a fun class I taught to 34 families in Brooklyn recently, new art pieces, several newfood concoctions I’ve been experimenting with… Now it is weeks later, and I’m feeling very overwhelmed and bad that I never posted a thing! Still struggling with meeting several major deadlines which takes precedence over everything.
But it’s all been good –lots of wonderful things happening! If you’re interested in my Surtex experience, I wrote about it here.

Let me just leave you with this quick recipe of an easy Zucchini Pseudo Crepe. It is a wonderful way to get more veggies into your diet and easier to make than a regular crepe. I like to eat them with Mexican food in place of tortillas, with my breakfast eggs, and just as a nice vegetable side. They go well with a lot of things! This recipe makes 3, which I store in the refrigerator and use whenever needed. Sometimes I eat half at a time.

zucchini crepe with egg

Zucchini Pseudo Crepe

About 3 cups of shredded zucchini
1/4 cup diced onion
1/4 cup multigrain pancake mix
2-3 tablespoons liquid egg whites or one egg white
kosher salt to taste

1. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.
2. Line a large plate with parchment paper. Spread 1/3 of mixture on top in a thin circle.
3. Microwave on high for about 3-4 minutes.
4. Peel off paper and eat or store for future use.  Repeat with more paper and more batter twice.

Makes 3 large crepes

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegetables, Vegetarian

12 responses to “Zucchini Pseudo Crepe

  1. Traditionally Modern Food

    Crepe looks tasty:)

  2. An egg over this pseudo crepe makes me yearn for a latte and a bistro to lounge in. Thanks for the suggestion. Happy Nesting!

  3. Pingback: Egyptian Culture, Part 6: Water, Water, Everywhere | Aisha's Oasis

  4. This is great, I needed another good idea for zucchini, thanks!
    Congrats! I have awarded you with the Most Influential Blogger award! Recycling it is optional, but the award is yours! Please visit me to receive your award at:

    Egyptian Culture, Part 6: Water, Water, Everywhere

  5. Going to try this tonight!

  6. om nom nom nom looks so good melissa! do you know any good gluten free receipes ? I have a friend who can’t eat it and seeing as your blog is a combination or yummy receipes and creativiy it makes for the best kind of blog i think xxx 🙂 katie

  7. MArilyn

    I’m a foodie, too , Melissa.
    We’re both in CBIG…I met you ages ago. I like that your son has a blog, too…cute artwork. I have one blog for kids’ art Just started and on will start soon for all else.

    Maybe it’s easier to just have one.
    Foodie Toodie,

    Marilyn

  8. I’m finally getting around to commenting on your post! yay. I remember seeing it and thinking, how in the world do you do it all? It comes as a relief to see that you (sometimes) take a break from posting. I admire your work and work ethic, Melissa! You ROCK!!
    I would try this recipe if I ever got around to cooking 😉

  9. Pingback: Gluten-Free and Egg Free Zucchini Pancakes – ChefTalk Blog

Leave a comment