Homemade Softserve Ice Cream and Chocolate Shell

This is my new summer treat.  Years ago, we were soft serve addicts.  My husband used to volunteer to walk the baby (our son would only nap in his stroller at the time) so he could just happen to pass by the Tasti D-lite in our neighborhood.  We had the cards which had little icons of soft serve ice cream dishes which could be punched out and marked how many you had bought.  After a certain number, you would be rewarded with a free ice cream.  That’s how bad it was.

Luckily that store went out of business (we are pretty sure it was due to the surliness of the guy who ran it — how can you always be in a bad mood when you work in an ice cream store!?)  and our addiction came to an end.

Then I discovered this recipe.  I had seen it in various incarnations all over the web — I’m not sure who posted it first.  And I also came across it in the Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home Cookbook (called Creamy Banana Ice), which was published in 1994, so maybe it is originally from that.  At any rate, it is a super simple recipe.  You freeze slices of banana and puree it in a food processor when frozen.  That is all!  I like to add a splash of lactose free milk.  I have also tried it with light coconut milk for a vegan version.  You could also use almond or rice milk.

All natural goodness -- just bananas and a splash of milk!

Since I had frozen some ripe mango chunks a week or so ago (they are a great snack/dessert, as is!), and I always have frozen banana slices on hand, I thought they would go great together.  I added light coconut milk.    My son loved this.  You would never believe there is no added sugar!

Heavenly.

Awhile back , I was given a  complimentary jar of coconut oil from Tropic Traditions, a company that offers a myriad of coconut products, including virgin coconut oil, coconut flour, coconut flakes, as well as other organic foods, skin care products and household goods.  I’ve been experimenting with it and hope to post more recipes in the future.

One of the most easy recipes and one that we have been enjoying since our heatwave in the east coast is “Magic Shell” made with coconut oil.  It tastes just like the store bought version but doesn’t have any of the extra ingredients or additives!  It’s just melted chocolate and coconut oil.   You drizzle it on something frozen, and it hardens immediately.  Here is the recipe for it on the Tropical Traditions site.

Pair the soft serve with the chocolate shell and you have a perfect healthy summer treat!

Banana Soft Serve

Frozen banana slices

Splash of liquid in the form of milk, rice milk, almond milk, coconut milk, etc.

1.  Puree in food processor until creamy

2. Serve immediately and eat!

10 Comments

Filed under Desserts

10 responses to “Homemade Softserve Ice Cream and Chocolate Shell

  1. This is what I have been looking for: a healthy soft serve ice cream. My husband and I have McDonald’s soft serve ice cream addiction. And it has worsem since moving into a house located right opposite to McD (we’re now working on losing the addiction). This may be what we needed in case of a withdrawal syndrome. haha!

    • We’ve done the McDonald’s soft serve addiction too… lol. They are supposed to be relatively low calorie because they are fluffed up with air, but I am suspicious…. (like that Seinfeld episode — I think it was loosely based on Tasti D-lite actually!)

  2. I totally understand the addiction. My addictions range from PinkBerry to DairyQueen softserve. 🙂 Thanks so much for posting this! I’ve never seen anything like this but it looks absolutely perfect for summer and for Bebe E! I know she will love it (me too)! We are experiencing cooler and overcast June gloom weather. I wish it were more summery! 🙂 Have a great weekend, Melissa.

  3. YUMSTERS!! And extra yumsters that it can be made for the vegan friends in our lives. 🙂

  4. Isn’t that the coolest trick? No pun intended. You don’t have to feel guilty about eating it!

  5. Stacie just made this and I have to try it….it looks deceptively simple but i hear it is good!

  6. Pingback: Sesame Seed Coconut Crusted Shrimp | The Hungry Artist

  7. Wow, I’m going to try that! I just bought some coconut oil for baking and had no idea you could use it to make Magic Shell. The kind I bought was Louana and it is liquid at room temperature. Hopefully it will work. P.S. Where is the Alex Trebek cake??? I’m waiting.

  8. Pingback: Chocolate Frozen Banana and Blueberry Bites | The Hungry Artist

Leave a comment