Experimenting with Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour

Update:

Unfortunately, Trader Joe’s has discontinued peanut flour since the end of January.  It seems that every time they come out with a product I love, they do this, and it is infuriating!  I heard about it on Peanut Butter Boy’s Twitter feed and stockpiled a box of their peanut flour.  But when it is all gone, then what!?

I’ve been looking online, and there are other places you can buy it.  I haven’t tried yet — I’ll have to do so when I run out, but other people have recommended this place:  http://www.byrdmill.com/gourmet_peanut_flour

They sell 1 lb.  ($5.03) and 5 lb. bags ($22.45), and they have light and dark varieties.

Another one recommended on chowhound.com is Spices etc. though I didn’t see it on their website…  The roasted flour here was described as “very strong”, and I’m not sure how that compares with the Trader Joe’s peanut flour.

Two readers have told me that the one at Southern Grace Farms is exactly the same as the one as Trader Joe’s.  One reader wrote (see below) that Trader Joe’s had been getting it private labeled from Protein Plus. The Protein Plus flour is in Harvey’s grocery stores, southerngracefarms.com and netrition.com.  Thanks you guys!

Every once in awhile Trader Joe’s comes out with a product that I go ga-ga for and this time it is their peanut flour.

It comes vacuum packed.

I am a peanut butter addict and can go through a jar in no time!  I love the peanut flour because the nutritional stats are so great.  You get the benefits of the peanuts without all the fat:


The equivalent 30g of peanut butter is 176 calories, 15g fat, and 7.5 g protein v.s. peanut flour's 110 calories, 4.5g fat and 16 g protein!

I’ve started supplementing my peanut butter habit with the peanut flour, so that I get a larger serving, great peanutty flavor, and extra protein without the extra fat.  I usually mix creamy peanut butter with the peanut flour with a bit of milk (alternatively, you could use almond milk to keep it vegan), increasing my peanut butter serving three-fold.

1 teaspoon of creamy peanut butter

...plus a heaping tablespoon of peanut flour and a tablespoon of milk

...equals volumized peanut butter that tastes so good!

You can also make a lovely version of what I call “Peanut Nutella” by mixing the peanut flour and cocoa powder with sweetener, such as sugar or stevia.

Another favorite Trader Joe's favorite -- unfortunately, it is seasonal!

Two tablespoons of regular Nutella is 200 calories, 11 grams of fat and only 2 grams of protein.  My version is 69 calories, 3.1 grams of fat and 4.1 grams of protein.  That makes me smile.

Another way I’ve used this Peanut Nutella is to just adjust the liquid amount so that it is a little less, creating a consistency of cookie dough.  I roll these into balls and dust with unsweetened cocoa to make Peanut Chocolate Truffles.  My son and his friends love these, and they make an easy snack.

Just as you can use peanut butter to make savory dishes, the same is true with the peanut flour.  I reworked my Sesame Peanut Sauce recipe to include the flour, making a healthier version of it. It is just as delicious.

Peanut Sauce over Roasted Spaghetti Squash and Steamed Broccoli

I have barely begun to experiment with this wonderful flour with baking projects.  I’m sure you could make delicious cookies and bars with it that are healthier alternatives to their regular peanut butter counterparts. I made a tasty batch of mini (only because I love all things small and they are easier to flip!) pancakes using a combination of all purpose flour and peanut flour– these are delicious with jam!

I just hope that Trader Joe’s doesn’t decide to stop offering it in their stores.  I hate it when they pull a loved item off their shelves (we are still mourning the loss of their Seaweed Sesame Balls, which we were addicted to…!)

Have any of you tried this wonderful product?  Do you have any cool recipes to share?  I’d love to see them!

Peanut Flour Peanut Butter

1 teaspoon peanut butter

1 tablespoon peanut flour

1 tablespoon milk or other liquid

1.  Mix all ingredients together, creating a larger amount of peanut butter.  You can adjust consistency by adding  more liquid or flour.


Peanut Flour “Nutella”

1 teaspoon peanut butter

1 heaping tablespoon peanut flour

About 1 tablespoon milk or other liquid

1-2 teaspoons of cocoa, to taste

½ teaspoon or so of sweetener, to taste

1.  Mix everything together.  You made want to add more liquid to thin spread.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Truffles

1 tablespoon peanut butter

¼ cup peanut flour

about 2 tablespoons milk or other liquid

1-2 tablespoon sugar, to taste

2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder, divided

  1. Mix peanut butter, peanut flour, milk, sugar, and 1 tablespoon of cocoa together until it has the consistency of cookie dough.  You may want to add more milk or cocoa or sugar to adjust.  Taste it – there is no raw egg in it, so it is like eating cookie dough with abandon!
  2. Roll into small balls.  Wetting hands with a bit of water helps to keep it from sticking.
  3. Roll balls in the remaining 1 tablespoon of cocoa until completely coated.
  4. Chill for about 3 minutes to firm up, or eat immediately for softer truffles.
  5. Store in the refrigerator.

Makes about 8 truffles

Asian Peanut Sauce with Peanut Flour

1 tablespoon peanut butter

½ cup peanut flour, sifted

2-3 tablespoons water

½ teaspoon grated ginger

1 – 2 small garlic cloves, pressed through garlic press

3 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 tablespoon brown sugar

  1. Mix peanut butter, peanut flour and water together to form a thin paste.
  2. Add remaining ingredients, stirring to break up any clumps.  For a smoother sauce, throw into food processor.

Makes about ¾ cup of sauce.


Peanutty Pancakes

¼ cup peanut flour

¼ cup all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

½ cup milk

1 tablespoon plain yogurt

1 egg

1 ½ teaspoons Earth Balance or butter, melted

  1. Sift dry ingredients together.
  2. Mix milk and yogurt together.  Alternatively, you could use about 1/3 cup buttermilk.
  3. Separate egg.  Mix egg white with milk mixture.  Mix egg yolk with melted butter.  Combine the two.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients while whisking to break up clumps.
  5. Heat skillet and pour in circles of batter.  Flip and cook other side.

Makes about 18 mini pancakes.

48 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Children, Condiments, Desserts, Sides

48 responses to “Experimenting with Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour

  1. Wonderful, simply wonderful. I, too, am a peanut butter addict, and if I can get the benefits (and delicious taste) without all the fat, I’m picking up a bag as soon as possible.

    Thanks for sharing the recipes!

    • here is another place to purchase Peanut Flour. They claim it is the identical product TJ sold. Good luck! I ordered some last night and it averaged $5ish a pound including shipping.

      • Thanks for the information!

      • Kiriaki

        Thanks …for the simple and simply “delish” peanut flour recipes… I bought the flour and forgot what recipe I was going to use it in. I looked for recipes for over 30 minutes online…Yours are the best in few well matched ingredient and flavor. Also the format of your website is clean, crisp, easy overview of page.

  2. dang, now i’m hungry.

    i’m in Trader Joe’s all the time but never saw this – will have to check it out!

  3. What a fantastic idea! I want to make ALL of these things…

  4. Simply brilliant. I’ll try to make recipe with chocolate.

    The question is – where will I find peanut flour here in Brazil? Peanuts are abundant, but not in flour. I’ll have toasting lightly, and then grinding, kneading and sifting?

    I’ll try that or go at the store imported foods (a rare thing here).

    Kisses & Peace.

  5. Wowwww… amazing recipes!! Thank you so much for sharing. Off I go to find peanut flour!

  6. Never knew about peanut flour. Thanks for this yummy post and all the recipes :).

  7. So happy to see there are other peanut butter enthusiasts! Let me know how you like the peanut flour. Also, let me know if you discover any new ways to use it!

  8. What fantastic ideas for the peanut flour…I still have some in my pantry and am looking for more uses 🙂
    Love the peanut sauce over the squash and broccoli…

  9. Amy

    I have never heard of peanut flour! But what a wonderful ingredient! Thanks for sharing all the recipe experiments, they all sound yummy :)!

  10. peanut butter flour is the best thing since….. PEANUT BUTTER!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Lina

    This might seem a bit basic, but… I substitute around half peanut flour for half regular flour in cookie recipes. It usually works out quite well. Yummeh.

  12. Love this collection of recipes! I just bought some online, been meaning to try it for a while now. I made crepes this morning using peanut flour and sweet potato flour – I’ll be posting them soon on my site. Good stuff!

  13. After I read this I went right out and bought some peanut flour, but I didn’t get round to using it until this week. First, I was making a staple at our house, peanut stew, which is based on a West African dish called groundnut stew. It’s basically a base of chicken broth, tomato sauce or paste, and peanut butter. You can add some onion or herbs. Then you add meat or vegetables; I usually do sweet potatoes and spinach. This time I threw in some peanut flour to thicken it up and intensify the peanut flavor. It was extra good!

    Next, I decided to try substituting peanut flour for part of the flour in a cookie recipe. The recipe I used was Pretzel, Peanut, and Chocolate Chunk Cookies from a special Woman’s Day Christmas Issue. I altered it a little and I had another inspiration. Why not substitute another Trader Joe’s favorite, peanut butter pretzels, for the pretzels and peanuts. Culinary genius!!!! Here is my version:
    2 sticks butter
    1 c brown sugar
    1/2 c sugar
    1 T vanilla
    3/4 t baking powder
    2 eggs
    2 c flour
    1/2 c peanut flour
    2 c peanut butter pretzels
    1 c chocolate chips
    Mix in the order the ingredients are listed. Bake at 350 for 14 minutes, switching the position of the pans halfway through.

  14. Jennifer

    For people wanting to buy internationally, you can purchase Protein Plus peanut flour at netrition.com and they will ship it outside of the US. It is also a 12% fat light roast like Trader Joe’s.

  15. Maya

    I just tried the above peanut butter right now. I love Trader Joes peanut flour and have been using it in place of peanut butter for months now for pancakes, banana breads, smoothies, cookies, etc. I didn’t have any actual peanut butter on hand (can’t keep it in house as it wouldn’t last the day) so I added a couple of teaspoons of almond milk and half a teaspoon of brown sugar. So good! I think it would work with Splenda too. This is a nice quick snack that fills my PB cravings and a low cal, healthier alternative to boot.

    I’m definitely going to bookmark this page and try the Nutella recipe (another item I can never have in my pantry).

  16. Lynne

    Unfortunately, when I visited the local Trader Joe’s yesterday to buy peanut flour they told me it had been discontinued a month ago! Fortunately there are other sources online; I’m just sorry I can’t buy it locally.

  17. Lorraine Gould

    TJ’s hsas discontinued their Peanut Flour…..I actually cried right there in the store and then drove 25 miles to check the other two stores to see if there was any left…..alas, no! Do you know of anything comparable? Have you tried any of the other brands? Where did you find them and for how much?

  18. Hiya!

    I wanted to let you and others know that I found this: http://www.bellplantation.com/ It’s the priciest option, but this chef gives it a good review… http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/09/powdered-peanut-butter-a-review-taste-test.html

    In the meantime, I cross my fingers for TJ’s version to make a magical comeback. 🙂

  19. fv

    I was just at TJ’s today and they had a bunch of peanut flour, exactly the same package you have pictured above, on their shelves. I’m in the Los Angeles area.

  20. rempau

    Btw, do you need to refrigerate the peanut flour after opening?

    • If you don’t eat it very fast, I might consider it. I store my soy flour and millet in the fridge, because I don’t use it daily. Since I eat the peanut flour with in a month or so, when I open a package, I put half in a vacuum sealed container, and the other half just in a regular plastic container, which I use daily. 🙂

  21. Jennifer

    Trader Joe’s quit carrying the flour, but they were getting it private labeled from Protein Plus. The protein plus flour is in Harvey’s grocery stores, southerngracefarms.com and netrition.com.

  22. Yes, a reader just emailed me — I had recommended southerngracefarms.com , not knowing this, and she said it tastes exactly the same! Thank you for that mentioning it!

  23. Correction: She had recommended it, and I wrote to someone else about it!
    I will update the post. Thanks!

  24. The Teenage Taste

    Currently I’m on my last bag of peanut flour. I cannot believe Trader Joe’s discontinued it! I hope I have enough to make some of those truffles. They look amazing! 😀

  25. Rachel

    Truffles. OMG. One of the best, easiest and fastest gluten free desserts ever!!!!

  26. teri

    Everyone should email Trader Joes they liked the product. An employee told me they do read emails & sometimes act on them. They should have posted a recipe or 2 on their website to let folks know how to use it. It just won a taste test shortly before it was discontinued. I made great healthy peanut noodles using this & whole wheat pasta.

  27. Yay! I have some peanut flour lying around that I’ve been dying to use…but didn’t know how. I’m so glad I came across this site!

  28. http://www.nutsonline.com/cookingbaking/gluten-free-flour/

    A great selection of gluten free flours. I would like to experiment with different nut based flours in gravy – almond chicken gravy, or peanut chicken gravy, etc. I think it’d be real tasty!

  29. Hello, wow!!! Tons of recipes. I am totally new to the world of blogging, glad you liked ‘sharing warmth’.

  30. Bob’s has a number of peanut flour alternatives:
    http://www.bobsredmill.com/flours-meals/
    Maybe the almond flour would work for you.

  31. Thanks for every other wonderful post. The place else
    may anybody get that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing?

    I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  32. It’s Look nice
    Thanks for great recipe 🙂

  33. What wonderful suggestions and ideas! Now I have to find peanut flour …!!!

  34. julietgourmande

    looks really nice ! very surprising and interesting !
    thanks 🙂

  35. Pingback: Easy Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce for the Busy Person | The Hungry Artist

  36. t.frances

    found your site looking for pb2 alternative. I also liked trader joes. Several hours net search – found these sources netrition, iherb, amazon, proteinplusflour 1lb(16oz)@6 2lb@11, southerngracefarms

  37. I’ve never heard of peanut flour. You live and you learn, right? Thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be purchasing a packet. Have a wonderful week-end.
    Cheers!

  38. MollyDean

    I bought peanut powder at Sam’s Club.

  39. Pingback: Cooking with Peanut Flour | PreparednessMama

Leave a Reply

