Semi-sweet and White Chocolate Studded Speculoos (Cookie Butter)Pancakes

Oozing is allowed.

I usually don’t have dessert for breakfast, but this coming Mother’s Day, I am requesting this.  And I’m not getting it at a restaurant!

My husband is the waffle and pancake master in our home.  He makes  Cadbury Egg waffles (when in season) and Snuggle Mountain pancakes all the time, as well as black and white pancakes when he is feeling ambitious.

Half regular pancake with chocolate chips, half chocolate pancake with white chocolate chips

So when I finally got my hands on a jar of Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter a.k.a Speculoos, I knew I wanted him to create something using this decadent spread.

Made out of Speculoos, a Danish cookie.

He experimented a few weekends ago, making his usual delicious light and fluffy pancakes studded with chocolate chips and white chocolate chips, and I asked him to try spreading some cookie butter in between layers.  Voila!  A mouth watering, swoon inspiring breakfast dish for special occasions was born!

Couldn’t resist another close up of the Speculoos oozing out!
With a little maple syrup on top, these pancakes are to die for!

Hope all the Moms out there have a wonderful, pampered day on Sunday!

I made this card, inspired by my mom’s love for pandas. 🙂

Semi-sweet and White Chocolate Studded Speculoos Pancakes

Note:   If you can’t get to a Trader Joe’s (or they discontinue this amazing product which they tend to do when I fall in love with something), I’m sure peanut butter, almond butter, or any nut butter would make a wonderful substitution!

4 eggs, separated

1 cup of milk

1 cup of flour (a mixture of whole wheat and all purpose is nice)

1 tablespoon sugar

pinch of kosher salt

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

butter or oil for frying

chocolate chips (about 7 per pancake)

white chocolate chips (about 7 per pancake)

Speculoos or other nut butter spread

Maple syrup

1.  Heat griddle or skillet.  A cast iron skillet produces a nice crust.

2.  Separate eggs and whip whites until stiff but not dry.

3.  Whisk egg yolks with milk and vanilla in a bowl.

4.  Whisk dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Pour egg yolk mixture into dry mixture and combine.

5.  Fold in egg whites gently.

6.  Heat some oil and butter in pan.  Pour pancake batter in pan to whatever size you desire.  My husband usually makes small to medium sized ones.  Stud each pancake with chocolate chips and white chocolate chips.  Cook on low heat until lightly browned on bottom, about 2 minutes.  Flip and cook other side.  You can keep these warm in a 200 degree oven.

7.  To assemble, spread each pancake with Speculoos and stack.  Pour maple syrup over and serve.

29 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts, Vegetarian

29 responses to “Semi-sweet and White Chocolate Studded Speculoos (Cookie Butter)Pancakes

  1. Can Dennis stop by our place too? LOL. Those pancakes look so scrumptious!!! I’ve never heard of cookie butter before but will look for it at TJ next time! What a beautiful card you made! Happy Mother’s Day, Melissa, and to your mom as well. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  2. This cookie butter sounds amazing – OH MY GOD amazing 😀
    And these pancakes… Are just so perfect… 😉

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I’ve wanted a jar of speculoos spread for quite sometime now. I’m going to have to pick one up on my next trip to the US. This recipe looks awesome as do your other pancake recipes. If only mini eggs lasted long enough to be chopped up … LOL

  4. This is the second time I’ve seen someone use Cookie Butter. We don’t have a Trader Joe’s here, so I guess that’s why I’ve never seen it, but now I’m really curious. What kind of nut do they use, and do they add anything else to it?… The pancakes look delicious. You’re a lucky mom 🙂

    • It has absolutely zero nutrients. haha. So if you can’t find it, count yourself lucky in a way! It’s just ground up cookies mixed with more sugar and oil to make it into a spread. The cookies taste a lot like Biscoff cookies or Digestive Biscuits. You could probably make your own!
      Anyway, no nuts involved — just fat and sugar. lol.

  5. I hope you enjoy your lovely, decadent Mother’s Day breakfast. I’m sure your mother will like the card.

  6. Ooooh! Fantastic Mom’s Day request 🙂 So yummy. And your panda card is ace!

  7. White chocolate and speculoos sounds incredibly tasty! The pancakes look to die for.

  8. Peter Tolan

    Okay, at first I thought you were trying to kill me with these fabulous recipes – but now I see you’re HELPING me. The photos and descriptions sound so good, I don’t feel like I have to make and eat the stuff. Bless you!

  9. I love the pictures of the cookie butter oozing out… so delightfully evil! 🙂

    • Ha ha, that’s a good adjective for it!

      I love your tortilla recipe and the story of your grandmother!
      I tried to ask a question on your blog, but it wouldn’t post.
      Do you think it would work with half the amounts?
      Yours look so good. I love tortillas with pb too.

  10. i have never seen that at my trader joe’s. then again, i’ve never looked for it. must try recipe!

  11. White Glossy

    I think I can honestly say this is the most amazing thing I’ve tried in a very… very long time!!! Thank you Trader Joes!!! Here’s our Review – http://wp.me/p106i6-3tU

  12. Loving your site, so many things I have never seen before!! Cheers, Tara

  13. These look absolutely divine!!! I can’t wait to try them. 🙂

  14. mcderlyn

    my mouth is watering right now

  15. What a great way to use the cookie butter! When I bought a jar from trader joes it was so good I would eat it with a spoon! I will have to try it this way next time!

  16. Looks amazing! We love pancakes in our nest as well our favorite flour is Pamela’s–delightfully light. Have you tried it? Since we eat them about four days out of the week we mix in fruit or veggies, in season now are zucchinis and they are “the best” according to the little sprouts of the house.

  17. Hey, the panda card is cute! I have featured your artwork at my blog, http://alittletypical.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/i-love-panda-part-ii/

Leave a comment