Asian Chicken Salad with Peanut Sauce and Soba Noodles


Last week, we’ve so enjoyed having my mom visit us from California.  She came to celebrate her 82nd birthday. 🙂

Denis did not photoshop this photo. His comment: What 82 year old woman has that jaw line!??

Other than when we took her to visit Denis’ lovely parents in Shelter Island, she’s been in our garden weeding, picking up leaves, pruning plants–basically working her green thumb magic on it (which I sadly did not inherit)!

I wish I had “before” pictures to contrast this with! There were less flowers all around, and the rocks and back were covered in leaves and weeds!

We call her the Energizer Bunny.

Instead of eating out, she preferred me to cook “things from [my] blog” for her, so all week, I prepared various dishes for her and revisiting some old recipes.

Lots of smoothies:

A ton of sushi, of course (click on each image for recipe):

With Miso Soup:

For her 82nd birthday which was the same day as Father’s Day, I made Reese’s Pieces and M & M waffles for brunch using our trusty Cadbury Egg Waffle recipe:

I bought a small bag each of Reese’s Pieces and plain M & Ms and scattered them on the batter before cooking in waffle iron.

And Crispy Fish Tempura Bites for dinner:

with Miso Green Beans:

And Rich Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ganache Frosting for dessert:

I used a double amount of  Chocolate Ganache Frosting in place of this frosting

Other meals were quick Chicken Quesadillas using cooked rotisserie chicken (after a long day of shopping–not much time to cook!):

I filled ours with cooked chicken, cheese, onions, and salsa

and Creamy High Protein Avocado Dip:

I discovered I don’t have to spend a lot of time searching for favorite recipes anymore — I can just do a search on my blog!

For her last night here, I decided to make something special and created my version of a chicken salad with peanut sauce, because she had mentioned she had had a great one awhile back during her many travels.  It is a quick and easy when you have leftover cooked chicken! We used more of the rotisserie chicken.  I also used my favorite peanut sauce recipe using roasted peanut flour (if you can’t find this, just peanut butter is fine–use this recipe instead minus sesame seeds) and coated cooked soba noodles and chicken with it (angel hair or vermicelli would work too).  Then I made a salad with shredded Napa cabbage, romaine lettuce, shredded carrot, julienned daikon radish, cilantro, green onions, and snow peas.  I topped the salad with the peanut sauce coated noodles and cooked chicken and garnished with more chopped cilantro and chopped roasted peanuts.

It was really good!  We had leftover sauce which I diluted with a bit of rice vinegar and used as a salad dressing over the course of the week –sans mom.  😦
We miss you obaachan! (Japanese for “grandma”)  Thank you for all your hard work here!!


Asian Chicken Salad with Soba Noodles and Peanut Sauce

Peanut Sauce:

¼ cup peanut butter (or 1 tablespoon peanut butter plus ½ cup peanut flour and 2 tablespoons water)

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tablespoon ginger, minced

3 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon sesame oil

Salad Greens:

4 cups shredded Napa cabbage

2 cups shredded Romaine lettuce

1 cup sliced cucumber

1 cup julienned carrot

1 cup julienned daikon or other radish

1 cup blanched snow peas

2 scallions, sliced

¼ cup chopped cilantro, divided

Vinaigrette:

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 teaspoon sesame oil

4 oz. soba noodles

2-3 cups cooked chicken, shredded

¼ cup peanuts, chopped

  1. Make peanut sauce.  Process all ingredients (peanut butter to sesame oil) in a food processor until smooth.  Transfer to a bowl and set aside.
  2. Prepare vegetables.  Mix salad greens together in a large bowl, reserving about 2 tablespoons of the chopped cilantro for garnish.  Set aside.
  3. Make vinaigrette.  Whisk soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sesame oil together in a small bowl.  Toss salad greens with vinaigrette to taste.
  4. Cook soba noodles according to package directions.  Drain.
  5. Assemble salad.  Toss cooked soba noodles with shredded chicken and prepared peanut sauce (use as much sauce as you want depending on how dry or wet you prefer the noodles—you will probably have some leftover!).  Divide salad greens into four bowls.  Top with noodles and chicken.  Garnish with reserved cilantro and chopped peanuts.

30 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Breakfast, Desserts, Dinner, Fish, Pasta, Sides, Snack, Vegetables

30 responses to “Asian Chicken Salad with Peanut Sauce and Soba Noodles

  1. This is a mouth-watering post filled with a nice collection of your recipes!! So glad you had a nice visit. Happy belated birthday to your mom!

  2. Hi Melissa, Wow! Happy 82nd to your mom! I would have NEVER imagined she was 82 when I met her a few months ago, but I see what you mean about the energizer bunny energy-level, not to mention the sharp as nails mind. What a beautiful garden she created, and what a beautiful daughter you are for all the amazing and delicious foods that you cooked for her. 🙂 I remember all the lovely foods you posted in the past that you shared with your mom on this trip, what a special celebration!!! Tell your mom I wish her a belated happy birthday. 🙂 As for your amazing salad, it’s absolutely something that I would love. I SO wish that I could cook with peanuts. I basically don’t allow them in the house now that we know the Bebe is allergic. And you are right about our weird psychic connection about cooking and posting similar recipes. I have to confess that although I posted that asian salad, my mom and I have been discussing a particular soba salad recipe that’s been driving us nuts because of a “secret” dressing that my mom’s friend absolutely will not share, but I swear, I told my mom it’s just like her chinese chicken salad vinaigrette dressing. Anyway, I love love love peanut asian dressing and I would love to try yours! Sorry – this comment became way too long! 🙂 Love this post! Hugs to you and your family, especially your mom!

    • Judy, Thanks so much for your kind words!! It was really fun seeing you with my mom that day–even with all the crazy rain and traffic. I’ll tell her you wrote. 🙂 Sorry about Bebe’s peanut allergy! Maybe you could do something similar with sesame seeds? Tahini has a similar consistency. And you could garnish with the seeds. I’m looking forward to see what you come up with regarding the soba salad. I love soba!!

      By the way, hope swimming was fun–Bebe E looked totally prepared!! 🙂

  3. P.S. – Denis is right. Your mom looks over 20 years younger than her actual age. She’s gorgeous, as is her jawline. Such a beautiful picture of her and J!

  4. wish I’d been at your house for all this yummy food! and your MOM here in MY garden! she can’t be 82? good genes!
    and this chicken WILL be prepared this weekend here…. can just taste it! 😉

  5. Your mum is such an absolute cutie pie 😀
    You obviously gave her a very mouth watering welcome!
    Superb dishes 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Joy

    The noodles recipe is great!

  7. Loved every bit of this post. Wonderful to see you and your lovely mom together. And what a feast of delicious foods you made during her visit. Must try your Asian Chicken Salad recipe :).

  8. foodiestuntman

    Glad you got to spend some time with your Mom. Happy belated birthday to her and congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  9. Cindi

    Your recipes sound delish!! Am having problems printing as only the first page will print which doesn’t have the recipe included, can you help? Is anyone else having this problem??

    • I’m so sorry to hear this!
      I’ll have to investigate on WordPress. In the meantime, I’ll email you the recipe! Thanks for calling this to my attention.

    • I investigated, and it’s not possible to do on wordpress.com (printable recipe, that is). But you can just copy section and paste into a word document next time. I tried it, and it works. Hope this helps.

  10. Kathy Maxwell

    My mouth is watering just thinking of this dish. I will have to try it. You are blessed still having your wonderful Mom with you and all the help she was during her visit. Food looks great and I enjoyed your site.

  11. Thanks all for the nice comments! If anyone tries it, I hope you like it! 🙂

  12. I love soba noodles and the peanut sauce sounds wonderful! And your mom is how old?! I wouldn’t have guessed if you hadn’t posted her age. Congrats on making the top 9 today!

  13. Food Stories

    Congratulations on making the foodbuzz top 9 today!

  14. Sounds like you gave your mother the royal culinary treatment! And she DEFINITELY looks amazing for 82 =)

  15. What a lovely post! All the food you made during her stay look lovely! Those waffles made me SO hungry!

  16. Hi Melissa! Your okaasan looks SO YOUNG! she looks very healthy and she actually looks similar to someone I know (I thought it’s her!). She must have enjoyed that you cooked all these delicious food for her. When my mom visits from Japan, I always want to eat her food so she spoiled me. I think it should be the other way around. Next time I will cook for her. This soba looks very delicious! I should give it a try!

  17. vintagesugarcube

    Love this post. Your mom is beyond adorable. And 82? What the What?? Lady, you have some gooooood genes. And I’ll be making your salad in the very near future. My boyfriend was just asking me to make something with soba noodles. Bingo!!

    • Hi! Hope you liked it if you’ve tried making it!
      By the way, I stopped by your blog but comments were closed. That is one AMAZING mega cheese ball!!! Wow. My mouth started watering when I got to the part about bacon… 🙂

  18. Thanks again everybody for the kind comments!
    Yes, I’m lucky to have my mom. She has been reading the blog also and has seen all of your compliments as well — always makes her day when someone is amazed at her age! 🙂

  19. This salad sounds perfect: all of those healthy vegetables, plus chicken and noodles — it is one of the things I could eat everyday, especially when the weather gets hot.

  20. Mom doesn’t look 82! 🙂 What a fun time…
    The waffles, if I tell my daughter about them, she will harass to me to make!

  21. I was drawn in by the Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream but spotted this soba noodle dish! Yum. I’ve been experimenting with soba lately. Thanks for writing and congrats on the FP madness! Stop by theusualbliss.com sometime.

  22. Wow. You can cook up a storm. Everything looks “oishii”…especially the “ganache” cake!

  23. Reminds me of cooking with my grandma when she was around. Your food looks terrific, I am definitely going to try out some of the recipes!

  24. MissingtheBridge

    THIS looks yummy! I will be testing this one out too!=) I really love your blog and all the delicious recipes. I need to log in more often!

  25. Thanks, MissingtheBridge – I enjoy yours as well!

  26. Pingback: Easy Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce for the Busy Person | The Hungry Artist

Leave a comment